Reviewing Resolutions

Happy New Year’s Eve! I’m spending the pseudo-holiday down in Tennessee with my dad, step-mom, step-brothers (and their girlfriends) and Dustin. We’re having a few people over to ring in the New Year, but I don’t think anyone’s going to get too crazy, which is fine by me. I’ve spent the last few days of vacation relaxing and just going with the flow – a very nice change of pace for the crazy let’s-plan-everything-out-right-now person that I usually am.

fire

Anyway, it’s time for the traditional “look back at 2012′s goals and see how little you accomplished this year!” post. In case you’re curious, here’s what I originally boasted about gunning for in the last 12 months. Now let’s find out which I actually crossed off the list and what I totally ditched.

Fitness

1.) Finish a marathon: DELAYED.

It was the biggest thing on my goals list this year and I excitedly hired a running coach and trained my little heart out for the Country Music Marathon. Unfortunately, tendinitis in my left knee struck me down hard. After a lot of painful physical therapy and pushing my limits, Abby and I decided it was best for my body – and mind – if I dropped down to the half. Once I mentally gave myself permission to do so, I immediately knew it was the right thing. I’m not sure if a 2013 marathon is in the cards for me, but I definitely have it on a future goals list.

2.) Do yoga twice a week: PUH-LEASE.

I’m pretty sure I ditched this goal by mid-February. I suck at regularly rolling out the mat and need to get better at it in 2013. Move this one over to the new year.

3.) Be able to do 20 real push-ups in a row: FAIL.

OK, I’m starting to feel really bad about myself right now with these goals. Whose idea was it to set these ridiculous things? Anyway, I just tried to do the push-ups and managed to bust out 12 before collapsing. The highest I got throughout the year was 15 in a row, back when I was going through an arm makeover workout for FITNESS and regularly working with a trainer. I’m going to get back into that routine in 2013! I swear ;)

pushup

4.) Run a sub-2 half-marathon: Almost there!

I’m at 2:06.41 and couldn’t be happier with that. This year of running gave me the confidence I desperately needed, and I learned to stop judging myself against other people’s accomplishments. Just because others were ready for the sub-2 doesn’t mean I was. I’m stoked to cross the finish line with a 1:59:XX attached to my name this spring!

5.) Run a race for charity: YES! CROSS IT OFF THE LIST!

I officially ran the Race for Recovery 5K for charity. I also donated to multiple people who raised money and raced for charitable causes, participated in fun fitness events for charity, and walked a marathon while raising money to fight cancer.

race bib

Life

1.) Grow at my job: CHECK!

At the beginning of the year, I said, “If I’m as happy with my career one year from now as I am right now, I will be one lucky girl.” It hasn’t been a full year quite yet, but it’s safe to say that I am one of the luckiest girls around. I have loved working with everyone at FITNESS for the last year and could not be more grateful for my job. I learned so much, improved my writing and editing skills and did a lot of great things. And just in time to ring in the new year, I wrote my first opener article! Check it out in the January 2013 issue and learn all about the tastiest (and healthiest!) yogurts in stores now.

issue

2.) Volunteer at Hope Lodge: DONE – X3!

I became a member of the committee that is bringing Relay for Life to Manhattan for the very first time in NYC. We meet once a month to go over details for the event, and then we try to get together at least once a month to host a dinner for those staying at the Hope Lodge. I’m so happy I accomplished this goal and can’t wait for the next host night!

3.) Go on a cruise – YEAH BUDDY!

After living together for one year, Dustin and I decided to celebrate and go on our first paid vacation together in the Bahamas! We had so much fun and couldn’t have asked for a better first cruise experience. We’re planning a huge cruise trip in 2014, but maybe a small one will be awaiting us in 2013, too!

cruise

4.) Pay off X amount of my student loans: HALF-CHECK

I didn’t fully reach the number I originally set for the end of the year, but I’m still really happy with my progress and the amount in my savings account. 2012 ended up being a busy year of travel, too, which depleted my funds more than I originally anticipated. But I’m completely OK with it and don’t regret anything that happened during this last year. I’m determined to take a huge chunk out of the remaining number in 2013, though!

5.) Get my personal training certification: FAIL

This is completely my fault. I bought all of the books but didn’t open them once. I let myself get wrapped up in running, working, traveling and well, living life. This quickly fell to the bottom of my priority list once my work schedule picked up. I realized that something would have to give in my schedule, and this was it. I’m not upset about it, but I would like to start studying and schedule the test before the end of this next year.

6.) Read at least one book a month: YES SIR!

I’m so happy I stuck with this goal. I read so many great books this year and keeping this goal in mind helped me stay on track. Whenever I realized it was nearing the end of the month, if I hadn’t read anything, I would immediately go to my to-read list and grab something I kept “meaning to open.” This goal really helped me relax and kept me mentally sane. I think I’ll be upping the ante to two books per month moving forward.

books

And there ya have it! Now tell me: how did you do on your 2012 goals? Clearly, my fitness ones didn’t fare so well, but I’d say I had a great year overall. I’ll be back soon with my goals for 2013! 

Posted on December 31, 2012, in Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful year Sam! Stay optimistic about those goals. If we only set goals we know we can reach, we don’t expect enough out of ourselves and our lives. Also, failure makes us more humble people! You have accomplished great things and it is so great to see how well you’re doing :) Keep it up girl! It’s so great to read your blog from time to time. I think I may pick up that Fitness so I can read your name in PRINT! WHOA!

  2. So glad to hear that running a marathon is still on your list – let’s make that happen! Name your race and I am IN! :)

  3. I can totally hear you saying “PUH-LEASE” out loud (about yoga). HA!

    Definitely Sub-2 in 2013. You are SO freaking close.

  4. wholeisticallyfit

    Ha, I love your brutal honesty. :) Maybe you didn’t get that personal trainer certification (yet) but you lived life – even better! And, so what you didn’t finish that marathon. You listened to and honored your body and that’s a much bigger accomplishment in my book. ;) In truth, it sounds like you accomplished a lot in 2012 even if those accomplishments weren’t quite what you had in mind when you set out. Happy 2013 – may it be your best year yet!

  1. Pingback: 12 Photos for 2012 « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Books, Books, Books « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: 13 for 2013 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

