Racing Through The Year

One of the items on my bucket list is to run a half-marathon in every state before I’m 30. I’ve run five already, and to stay on track, I hope to run six in 2013. I told you I would share the races I had my eye on soon, and there’s no time like the present! Before we get to it, though, let’s recap what states I’ve already covered 13.1 miles in (you can find all of my recaps here):

  1. New York, New York – FITNESS/MORE half-marathon
  2. San Francisco, California – Nike Women’s half-marathon
  3. Washington, D.C. – Run Rock ‘n’ Roll USA half-marathon
  4. Nashville, Tennessee – Run Rock ‘n’ Roll Country Music half-marathon
  5. Orlando, Florida – Disney World Wine and Dine half-marathon

So I’m not headed to any races in those states this year. Instead, here’s where I’ve already registered to run:

  • Long Branch, New Jersey – Long Branch half-marathon on May 5. I’m currently building my base with the Lululemon run club and am hoping to break sub-2. Can you say speed work? 

2010 Logo_New Jersey Marathon

  • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania – Run Rock ‘n’ Roll Philadelphia half-marathon on September 15. I’m hoping I can convince my brother to run this one with me, since he’s currently living in Philly. But he’s a med student, so I’m not sure how feasible it is for him to squeeze in training the same year as his rotations. Fingers crossed, though! 

11-RnR-PHI-Logo-RGB1

las-vegas-rock-n-roll-half-marathon

Other races that I have in my schedule, though I’m not registered for yet:

  • Des Moines, Iowa - Des Moines half-marathon on October 20. Running again with Karla! This year is the year of running for us – yay for running buddies, despite being in different states! 
  • Manchester, New Hampshire – Manchester half-marathon on November 3 (tentative). The official race date hasn’t been announced, but this would be an easy race for me to get to and the course goes right by my aunt’s house!

So I’m in need of one, possibly two more races this year (in case I don’t do Manchester). Any suggestions? Because of my budget, I’m looking to tackle some of the states closer to home, with a few that require more travel (Des Moines, Vegas). I was hoping to do one in March, but the only one in a new state that I’ve found so far sold out too fast! Any ideas for the early side of 2013 would be much appreciated :)

And there ya have it! My running race calendar for 2013. I’m also hoping to run Reach the Beach and complete the RAGBRAI bike race, so it’s definitely going to be a full year.

But you tell me: what races are you gearing up for?

Posted on February 1, 2013, in Exercise, Goals, Racing, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Go you! Sounds like some great plans, Sam. I wish you all the best. I’m running my first race EVER this year. I’m not a runner, but I’m running the 5K part of the New River Marathon in NC. I’m not a runner, but I thought it’d be a fun thing to do with the husband while raising money for Samaritan’s Purse. I figured if my cousin’s 8-year-old daughter can run a 5K then most certainly can lol.

  2. You go, Sam! This looks fantastic–you are a superstar with the 50 races! Can’t wait to follow along…and join you on a fair share. :)

  3. Those are GREAT choices. I’m also working on my 50 state goal. The Amica Half in Newport, Rhode Island is a fabulous, fast course, but might conflict with your October date above.

  4. At first I thought WHOA…but then I realized that you are a lot younger than me :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 89 other followers

