Breast Cancer Awareness Month is Over, Are You?

October is over and with it goes the constant flooding of pink surrounding every street you cross and every corner you turn. But does that mean you should forget about cancer research fundraising and all of the passion you invest into the cause during that month? I don’t think so.

I’m just like the rest of you – once October hits, something inside me goes stir crazy and I find myself constantly getting involved with anything related to breast cancer awareness. I’ve turned my Facebook profile picture pink, worn pink clothing and died my hair pink, all to raise awareness so people will remember to fight for the cause. Because who doesn’t want to live in a world where cancer doesn’t exist anymore?

Although raising awareness is great, donating money to the cause is even better. After all, if researchers don’t have money then they can’t keep breaking scientific barriers to bring them one step closer to a cure. So I crammed as many fundraising efforts into my schedule as I possibly could, and essentially broke my wallet in the process. But it’s worth it if people I love don’t have to suffer from this disease anymore.

First on the calendar was the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer walk in Syracuse! This was such a fun day. My roommate, Meghan, and fellow Colleges Against Cancer (CAC) member, Kyle, woke up at 6:30 a.m. to make the 45-minute commute over there and leave plenty of time for browsing tents and spending more money.

Check out our new lei's

For only four hours of my Saturday, I was one of 6,000 walkers who helped raise $400,000 for the American Cancer Society! Not to mention I had to support Betsy Barrett, the new coordinator of Making Strides and my former ACS partner who helped coordinate Relay for Life!

All smiles after the raised amount was announced. Way to go, Betsy!

Upping the ante on the fitness level,  I participated in the Great Pumpkin 5K Run sponsored by the Cooper/Glimmerglass Fitness Centers that I work at. We raised $800 for Susan G. Komen for the Cure Foundation and had 222 participants — more than double last year and the most we’ve ever had! (Quick pat on the back for my promo skills on that one!)

My pink sneaks propelled me to the finish line

My CAC chapter always sells breast cancer awareness shirts during October to raise funds for ACS, too. This year, we brought back the “Fight Like a Girl” slogan and added some new designs. So far, we’ve sold over 200 shirts. We know October is over, but like I said before, we don’t stop fighting for the cure when the month ends. We’ll be selling more shirts throughout the week. So if you’re in Oswego, we’ll be in the Campus Center Wednesday and Thursday selling them! Even if you’re not, let me know and I can fill out an order form for you. One for $12 or two for $20, and they come in a variety of colors!

You know you want one!

What have you done for Breast Cancer Awareness Month? I’d love to hear your stories!

Posted on November 1, 2010, in Cancer Awareness, Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

