Run through Central Park

In honor of sticking to both of my online and fitness resolutions, I thought I’d share my first experience of running in the cold with y’all!

I’ve blogged about tips for running in the cold based on interviews and research that I did with various people and resources. However, I’ve never done it myself because simply put, I dislike basically everything about winter. It doesn’t make any sense because I grew up at the base of the Adirondacks and I go to school in upstate New York where my campus resides literally right next to Lake Ontario. But me and snow, well, we just don’t mix. I’ll take cuddling in my blankets with a good book and steaming cup of tea over a day of snowball fights any day.

Yummy chai tea latte.

But since I need to train for my half-marathon (and I don’t have a gym membership here), I decided to run through Central Park today, especially because that’s where the race will take place. So I bundled up and hit the pavement. On a side note, kudos to all the exercisers in the park today! It was downright cold, but there were a ton of people out!

Ready to hit the pavement!

The views alone were worth braving the winter cold. I couldn’t help but smile as I moved along, taking in all the beautiful sights that New York has to offer and being so happy that I finally checked something off of my crazy-long bucket list.

Running in the cold is really different and my lungs were not ready for the impact of cold air. I didn’t run as fast as I would have liked because my chest needs to get used to this temperature change, but I’m proud of myself for completing my run. I kept pushing and finished five miles in 53:37!

I did receive quite a few crazy looks from fellow joggers, though. I don’t own a pair of full-length jogging pants because I can’t find a pair that doesn’t make me too hot. So I was running with cropped pants.

Brrrrr.

Needless to say, my legs were freezing by the end and I couldn’t wait for a long, hot shower!

Do you like running in the cold? What tips do you have for pushing through the freezing temps?

Posted on January 9, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I don’t run anymore like I used too. I do however have a tip that always worked. You know how you can talk yourself out of running and never do it? I made a promise (a daily promise) that I had to go 10 minutes and if I still wanted to quit then I could. Funny part was I always kept going after 10 minutes, in fact I found that it was specifically 8 minutes on the nose, I don’t know why it is exactly but 8 minutes of running I would get warm on cold days, so warm that I could strip down too shorts and bare legs. Every time I ran on cold weather and gave myself 8 minutes at least I did just fine and never quit.

Leave a Reply

