Pop Those Chips

Although I’m not usually one to turn down a good snack, I’ve never munched on chips much. They’re often too salty for my taste and the grease that’s left all over my fingers doesn’t make me feel very healthy. So I tried baked chips. Yuck, is all I have to say. There’s no flavor! Sadly, I accepted that chips were not a part of my diet.

Then my friend Karla, who blogs at Healthful Bites, tipped me off to Pop Chips. I saw that they were her go-to snack from the vending machines at work, which surprised me because I usually stay away from those machines as much as possible.

 

Yum.

So what persuaded me to try the little treats? The main slogan on their website: “love. without the handles.” I laughed out loud and after perusing their site a bit more, decided I really needed to try these out for size. Karla was right — these chips are phenomenal! I’ve been addicted ever since I tried the goodies in a bag. Not to mention that they’re a moderately healthy snacking option. It’s the best of both worlds!

Pop Chips come in a variety of flavors, including:

  • Original
  • Barbeque
  • Sea Salt and Vinegar
  • Sour Cream and Onion
  • Salt and Pepper
  • Cheddar
  • Parmesan Garlic

The manufacturers of Pop Chips stamp right on the bag that this chip is different because it’s “never baked, never fried.” They “leave out the bad stuff, like hydrogenated oils and msg, that give snacking a bad name.” One serving has 120 calories in it and no trans-fat (the yucky stuff that clogs your arteries).

These chips don’t leave my fingers salty or greasy after I’ve chowed down, either. They have a delectable amount of seasoning that’s usually not too strong and you can eat the whole bag. In. One. Sitting.

Are there any flavors I don’t like? Sure, but I think that depends on your own taste buds. I’m not a fan of the salt and pepper chips because I don’t add salt or pepper to any of my food. The garlic flavor isn’t a top choice, either, but like I said, I think it’s up to you to decide. I love the barbeque and original for snacking between meals, and the sea salt and vinegar tasted great with a bit of salsa.

Have you tried Pop Chips yet? What do you think? I tried to munch on a bag today at work, but it got stuck in the vending machine!

Posted on January 12, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

