Strala Yoga Impresses Again

Strala Yoga has made an appearance on The Pulse before, but after chatting with fellow bloggers about the place, I decided it was time to test it out again. Although I loved the “Strong” class the first time, it didn’t convince me to pick up yoga on a regular basis. I definitely incorporated it into my workout routine more often, but only when I happened to be available during a class. I never purposely made time for it.

Tara Stiles’ “Relax” class, however, may have changed my mind. I headed over to the new studio at 632 Broadway tonight and prepped myself mentally for a session that was sure to be filled to capacity. Originally, I was going to meet up with Jess from Fit Chick in the City, but unfortunate circumstances kept her from joining me. Despite the initial rush of anxiety that I felt in the elevator, I forged ahead and I’m glad I did. I felt immediately welcomed the minute I stepped through the glass doors and my fears subsided as I settled in the dimly-lit room amongst the numerous yogies.

The new studio is beautiful with plenty of room to stretch without feeling like you’re stepping on toes — but like I assumed, the class was full. Stiles is rising in fame every day and everyone wants to get their om on with the well-known teacher. Who wouldn’t when you can take a class for only $10? I was even offered a deal to take an unlimited number of classes for a week for the ultra-low price of $20 because I hadn’t been to the new studio before. Talk about a deal! If I was in NYC long enough, I definitely would’ve signed up.

Stiles in the old studio in NoHo.

The poses Stiles took us through weren’t extremely challenging, yet they worked my muscles enough for me to really enjoy every move. She fluidly instructed us from pose to pose, yet also allowed time for us to do our own thing and move the way our bodies wanted to. The calming music connected with the high points in the class, with the volume increasing when we were set free to listen to our bodies, focus on breathing and move through poses that felt best. By the end, I was thoroughly relaxed, invigorated and happy. My body was humming its thanks for such a glorious workout.

If you have a chance, head over and reap the benefits yourself. But if you’re not in NYC, consider buying Stiles’ book, Slim, Calm, Sexy Yoga. I got it as a Christmas present and like what I see so far!

How ’bout you? Are you a yoga fan or gym rat? Tell me what you love about both!

Posted on January 13, 2011, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great review! I’m so bummed I didn’t make it. After being on the train for an hour I should have realized I was at the wrong stop. I have to get there for this class soon.

  1. Pingback: Recuperating Post-Race « The Pulse

Leave a Reply

