National Peanut Butter Day

Yesterday was National Peanut Butter Day. How did I miss that?! Because I’m such a devoted fan to this delectable food item, I’ve decided that I just can’t let this day pass by without any sort of celebration. Therefore, in my mind, today is National Peanut Butter Day and I’m going to celebrate all day long!

To kick the day off right: breakfast.

Mmmm

While browsing around my kitchen to figure out what I wanted to nosh on for breakfast, I pulled out my big ole’ jar of pb and dipped in a spoonful. In my household, I’m known for randomly grabbing a spoonful of peanut butter. I mean, why not? It tastes delicious! People call me crazy, but I think I’m on to something.

I know my hair looks awesome.

I also love Thomas’ Bagel Thins, so I decided to make myself a toasted peanut butter and jam bagelwich. I used a 100 percent whole wheat bagel thin and slathered on Jif’s creamy peanut butter and Price Chopper’s grape jam.

Yum.

It was delicious! I toast my bagels beforehand because I love the taste of gooey peanut butter.

Breakfast also reminded me of the delicious brunch I had in Astoria to kick off an annual New Year’s tradition: brunch at Sanford’s Restaurant with the girls. I ordered the peanut butter and banana pancakes with my friend Nina, while my friends Victoria and Libby ordered other delicious treats. To see Victoria’s recap about our foodie adventures, check out her post on The Frittering Conch.

Photo courtesy of Victoria Phillips.

Want to know more about peanut butter? Yum sugar posted some fun facts about the goodie — did you know that one of Elvis’ favorite foods was a fried peanut butter and banana sandwich?

I’m going to incorporate more peanut butter throughout my day (I can practically hear peanut butter M&Ms calling my name). Dustin’s been craving comfort food, so I’m thinking about whipping up my grandma’s delectable peanut butter pork chops for dinner. Here’s how:

Ingredients:

Pork chops

Brown flour

1 large white onion, sliced

1 can of cream of mushroom soup

1/2 cup of peanut butter – more if you want a stronger flavor

1.5 can of condensed milk

Directions:

Shake pork chops in a plastic bag with brown flour. Place pork chops in 9×13 baking pan, then layer sliced onions on top.  Stir together soup, peanut butter and milk, then pour over meat and onions. Bake at 400 degrees for about an hour, checking every 20 minutes to make sure the meat’s not getting too dry. If it is, you may have to add more milk. Meat should be fork tender when done.

Unfortunately, this isn’t the healthiest recipe, so I’m doing my best to switch things out to make it healthy but just as yummy. Let me know if you have any ideas!

What are some of your favorite peanut butter treats?

Posted on January 25, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

Leave a Reply

