Your Feel-Good Workout Playlist

Although National Eating Disorder Awareness Week is coming to a close, that doesn’t mean its purpose should end. Throughout the week, I’ve hit up the library to find some more good reads about the inner workings of an eating disorder, just so I can understand it a bit more. A few that I’m really looking forward to reading:

Please keep in mind that I have not actually read these books yet, so I can’t recommend them. But you can always start reading along with me!

I’ve also found myself migrating toward morale-boosting, feel-good music. Tunes that uplift me during my workout and make me feel beautiful from the inside out. After all, I don’t work out to be skinny or because I feel guilty about a slice of pizza I ate. I exercise because it makes me feel amazing and I revel in the post-workout endorphins that surge through my body. So what songs are making me feel so fantastic during my sweat sessions? Check it out!

In no specific order:

1.) Just the Way You Are by Bruno Mars

2.) Crazy by Simple Plan

3.) Imperfection by Saving Jane

4.) It’s My Life by Bon Jovi

5.) Born This Way by Lady Gaga

6.) Video by India Arie

7.) Perfect 10 by Beautiful South

8.) I Am Not My Hair by India Arie, featuring Akon

9.) Ugly by Sugababes

This song has been stuck in my head all week and I’m absolutely in love with it. I’ve always loved Pink and her music — she’s so strong and embraces being different. She’s a great role model for young girls to look up to. Enjoy one of her latest:

Most of these songs are a little too slow for me to run to, so I often pop on the playlist when I’m on the elliptical or doing strength training. I hope you find a few to fall in love with, and remember you’re amazing just the way you are 🙂

What are some of your favorite feel-good songs?

Posted on February 26, 2011, in Beauty, Exercise, Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think this post is really smart. I think many (most) of the problems with body image that people struggle with come from the MEDIA. As much as people love their television, their celebs, their gossip, the fact remains that the media purvey to the same people who LOVE it the idea that they are DUMB for being SMART, FAT for being not SKINNY enough, and HOMELY or UGLY if they don’t spend hours being everything but THEMSELVES. It is so sad! I like that you offer a number of media artifacts that people can surround themselves with that make them feel better, not worse. It is a truly inspiring idea!

    For me, these are just a few of my favorite feel-good songs: “This Too Shall Pass” by OK Go, “Infinity Guitars” and “Tell ‘Em” by Sleigh Bells, and pretty much any song by Passion Pit or Vampire Weekend. They are a great pick-me-up.

    For any women in your audience, I would highly recommend the book Cunt. It may have a crude title, but Inga Muscio reminds you to feel good about yourself despite the shit that everyone tells you throughout your life. She is incredible!! I read this book whenever I feel shitty, and its covers everything from girl power to body image to your period, to rape and sex. Great read, and a great post Sam!

  2. Bridget Woznica

    Have you read Portia de Rossi’s Unbearable Lightness? I picked it up because of all the hype about it, but it was actually a great read. I don’t read a whole lot on the subject of eating disorders. not like any personal stories anyway. But this one was good. It talks about how she struggled with anorexia and bulimia. The most powerful part of the book however is the ending where she throws in some pictures when words will just no longer do justice to the pain she was going through. You should totally check it out. It’s a quick read.

    I totally agree with Whitney that the media can be blamed for a lot of what women, and men, go through with trying to acheive “perfection.” And it is sad. Unfortunately I don’t think it’s going to change anytime soon.

    For me, any music makes me feel great. But I’ll admit that I have a “happy songs” playlist on my ipod that I blast when I need that extra boost.

    1) U2-Beautiful Day
    2) Sara Bareilles – Vegas, or King of Anything
    3) John Mayer – Bigger Than My Body
    4) Texas – Inner Smile
    5) Rusted Root – Send Me On MY Way

    Just to name a few. Great post!

  3. I’ve been wanting to pick up Portia’s book — I’ve heard it’s great and well, I love Ellen DeGenerees, so by default I’m interested. Thanks for the suggestions!

  1. Pingback: Operation Beautiful Covers Gaga’s ‘Born This Way’ « The Pulse

Leave a Reply

