Operation Beautiful Covers Gaga’s ‘Born This Way’

I’ve blogged about Operation Beautiful quite a few times, but I just can’t stress enough how awesome this movement is, or how much it’s spreading across the world. Founder Caitlin Boyle is even working on her second book, this time for tweens. I can’t wait to get it for my 11-year-old cousin!

Anyway, I was perusing Caitlin’s blog this morning when I came across this awesome video by her friend Peter Hollens. It’s a fantastic cover of Lady Gaga’s latest hit, “Born This Way.” I love that song in the first place (and even have it on my feel-good workout playlist), but this cover is simply amazing.

Here’s the deal: Caitlin and Peter would love for this video to go “viral.” After all, spreading the message can only help! So if you like this, consider pasting it in your own blog, tweeting about it or linking to it on Facebook.

Enjoy!

Posted on March 7, 2011, in Beauty, Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Not a fan of the song but a fan of the cause. I will tweet it to my die hard tweeter’s. Nothing like a good cause to unite people. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I love all acapella music like that. A guy named Mike Tompkins does this sort of thing too. He covered Bruno Mars’ “Just The Way You Are” this way. It’s a powerful message, and I’m so thankful for positive self esteem campaigns like Operation Beautiful. I only saw a few of those post-its around campus that day, but they made me smile just the same.

  3. I haven’t heard the Lady Gaga version, to be honest, but this one is cute and upbeat. Like Zach, I’m not a huge fan of the music, but the message is absolutely imperative for young people to hear. I hope people, particularly girls, can truly embrace this message and stop feeling down on themselves.

    I think it would be great if two people like Caitlin and Peter could write their own song; they are two very talented individuals, and it doesn’t have to be a serious production like this remake is. It could be sung in their living rooms and people would be all over it! A contest for readers of Caitlin’s blog would be cool, too, for songs or poems that promote positive body image and healthy self-esteem.

  4. I agree with Whitney. It is a good thing to try and get your message across to people, but by having some sort of contest that incorporates others ideas of self worth and positive, healthy life styles, it would allow people to express their own ideas about the subject. If people feel like they are helping others there should be a rather large response and variety of media which will inspire and reach more people.

  5. Bridget Woznica

    I think it’s great how passionate you are about this Operation Beautiful movement. This video is great and I’m with you on liking the original Born This Way also. I mean at first I was put off by the similarity to Madonna’s Express Yourself, but after listening to it a few more times it’s hard not to find it catchy. And what a great message it sends! Thanks for sharing this video.

  6. I’m glad you all like the video because of the message! I still like Gaga’s version, but the more I hear it on the radio, the more I like Peter Hollen’s version better haha 🙂
    Either way, I just think it’s a great song because it has a fantastic message. And I think it’d be awesome if Caitlin and Peter did something together. We’ll have to see!

Leave a Reply

