Race Day is (Almost) Here!

Sorry I’ve been absent this week, guys, but this week has been ridiculously busy as I tried to wrap everything up, get plenty of rest and prep for tomorrow’s race.

That’s right, it’s race day tomorrow! Can you believe how fast the last 10 weeks raced (pun!) by? I sure can’t. Just a short time ago I was only running two, three or four miles at a time, and now I’m gearing up for 13.1 — crazy!

The last few days have been quite the whirlwind, too. I hopped on a bus super-late Thursday night (or really early Friday morning, depending on how you want to look at it) to head to NYC, getting into Manhattan around 6:30a.m. Jumping on the subway after grabbing my bag, I made my way to Astoria to stay with my friend Nina for the weekend. Thanks for housing me, Nina!

After a quick shower, I spent the day in various meetings, then met up with Nina and some of her work friends for dinner. I made sure to stop at the health expo though, where I caught up with some of my favorite FITNESS editors and snagged some Clif shot bloks for race day.

Black cherry = yum!

I went to bed shortly after we got home, snagging nine hours of fabulous shut-eye. When I woke up Saturday morning, another whirlwind day awaited me. A quickie breakfast and beautiful two-mile run in Astoria Park were the first on my to-do list.

The weather was gorgeous!

I love that I could see Manhattan from the track.

Can you spot me?

But I realized how much I despise the monotony of running in circles on a track. I didn’t bring my music with me either, so I tried to make this run extra fast.

Seriously, perfect running weather.

Nina and I had an appointment to look at apartments for when I make the big move to NYC, so we walked over there after my run. We looked at a few apartments and I found one I really like! We’ll have to see if the other roomies are on board before we sign any paperwork. I’ll keep you posted!

We snagged a quickie lunch back at the apartment before heading back to the health expo. I was able to chat with more of the FITNESS editors, shop around, and Nina snagged a savvy EFX balance bracelet.

The sign she's making me is in the background!

Next up was the runner’s dinner at B.B. King’s in Times Square, which was amazing. The food was phenomenal and the camaraderie among all of the women there was pretty awesome.

We got a fancy sign outside of B.B. Kings.

I had salad,  pasta, veggies, lasagna, chicken, a roll and a small piece of a brownie. I fully believe in having a little bit of everything.

Deliciousness.

Yeah, I’m officially carb-loaded.

After a long day of walking, Nina and I were pretty tuckered out, so we headed back home. Now I’m in my comfy sweats and have all of my clothes out and ready for race day.

Layered up.

And all of my electronics are plugged in, ready for the morning.

Ready to go!

I’m going to fit in a good stretch session before heading off to bed. I’ll be hitting the pillow super-early tonight to make sure I get plenty of rest before my 5:00 a.m. alarm sounds off.

I’ll be sure to update y’all before the end of the day tomorrow, but I’ll tweet my race time as soon as I’m finished 🙂

See you after the race!

Posted on April 2, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck on your race Samantha. You have done the ground work and now its time to see what it adds up to. Of all things, get home without injury.

Leave a Reply

