Bikini Bravery

While I was preparing for my half-marathon, I realized that my final spring break was smack dab in the middle of training. I knew that I wasn’t going to skip out on spring break because after all, this was my last year to have a fantastic, week-long vacation with some phenomenal friends. But I also knew that I couldn’t just abandon my plan and overindulge in every delicious food that came across my radar while in Key West.

Before my trip, I was anxious that I would fall off the wagon and “accidentally” forget about the running I needed to accomplish throughout the week. But once I was there, I grew more and more excited to experience Key West completely on foot. I savored the delectable dishes my friends and I tested, but allowed my body the opportunity to feel great afterward with a workout.

Want to know what else made it such a great vacation? Self confidence. Or when this time of year rolls around, what I like to call bikini bravery.

One of the bravest things a girl can do.

One of the bravest things a girl can do.

Training for this half-marathon gave me the confidence to walk around in my bikini for 75 percent of the trip and not be worried about how I looked to others. But it wasn’t because I was skinny. It was because my body felt strong, which made me feel great. I didn’t care that I could strut my stuff across the beach. I felt sexiest when I was running along the shoreline with sweat pouring down my face because my body was powering me through at least four miles in 85-degree weather. Hanging out in a bikini top with my midsection confidently exposed was just a bonus.

Soakin' up some vitamin D.

I know I don’t have what many would call a perfect body, and I certainly don’t have the type of body prominently displayed through many of the pop culture’s media outlets, but I have the perfect body for me. I have strong legs, toned arms and a flat but not-so-defined tummy. I’m not stick-thin nor overweight. I’m basically smack dab in the middle of a healthy BMI range for someone my height and weight. And all of that is perfectly fine with me because I worked hard to get where I’m at today and I’m proud of my accomplishments.

Basically, what I’m trying to say is that I’m happy to be who I am, and you should be too. Be proud of the effort that you put in. It doesn’t have to be earth-shattering — any amount of effort is better than none. I don’t have six-pack abs (nor do I think I ever will), but I can run a half-marathon, hold a plank for a minute and a half and do 20 jump squats in a row.

So I’ve decided that I’m going to live my bikini bravery to the fullest this summer. No hiding who I am and what I’ve accomplished. Won’t you join me?

While you’re at it, tell me what some of your fitness goals are for this summer! It can be anything: testing out or incorporating more yoga, running a 5k, slipping on an old pair of shorts, or improving a weak spot, maybe? I want to know! I’ll even go first: I really want to complete the Warrior Dash race in August with my college friends!

Posted on April 19, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love this (and you)! Can’t wait to be bikini brave with you this summer 🙂

  2. Good for you! I won’t even take my shirt off at the beach. Once again I need to start using your blog for exercise motivation! Great post

  1. Pingback: $40 for Chartered Day Trip to Key West from Davis Tours ($100 Value) - Koream Deals

  2. Pingback: Freestyle Friday: The “Let’s Try This Again” Edition « Indigo Moods

Leave a Reply

