Sweets Overload

Happy day after Easter!

Most wouldn’t consider this a special occasion, but it is for me every year. Yes, I do all of my normal things, but it feels like a treat because I don’t do my normal things over the long weekend. For some reason, Easter persuades me to overindulge every year. I keep myself in check for all of the major holidays — Thanksgiving, Christmas, my birthday — but whenever Easter rolls around I can’t seem to get food in my mouth fast enough. What gives?

This guy is out to get me.

After indulging in more than my fair share of sweets this weekend, my body was seriously craving a nice round of exercise and some healthy eats. I was more than happy to oblige.

Mexicali Porkchops.

While breakfast and lunch were both nutritious, dinner really stole the show. I had some pork chops that needed to be used up before they spoiled (already thawed out), so I broke out the old-fashioned cook books for a new recipe. The winner came from“Better Homes and Gardens’ New Cook Book” from 1981!

Throwback!

I stuck mostly to the recipe, but swapped out a few ingredients for what was already lying around the house.

Lots o' veggies in there.

The dish perfectly satisfied my taste buds and my body was so happy to get so many good veggies in one dish. I also had a big helping of green beans on the side.

The steam was fogging up my lens.

I recommend this recipe to anyone looking for a little kick in their dinner! It was easy to throw everything together and I got some homework done while the pork chops baked in the oven.

So how do you make it? I won’t force you to go find the ’81 cookbook I had lying around, so here’s the recipe:

Mexicali Porkchops (makes four servings)

Ingredients

  • 4 pork chops
  • 1/2 cup chopped green pepper
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1 16-ounce can of tomatoes, cut up
  • 1 8-ounce can whole kernel corn, drained
  • 1 8-ounce can red kidney beans, drained (I used black beans)
  • 1/2 cup long grain rice (I used Uncle Ben’s Long Grain & Wild Rice)
  • 1/2 cup water
  • Few dashes bottled hot pepper sauce

Directions

  1. Trim fat from chops. Cook chops in skillet until golden brown. Set chops aside.
  2. Combine all other ingredients in a pot and boil on medium heat until rice is cooked and mixture is boiling.
  3. Pour mixture into a baking dish; arrange chops on top so they’re slightly mixed in. Cover and bake at 350 degrees for 35 minutes.
  4. Uncover and bake for 10-15 minutes more, or until meat is tender.

As for exercise, I logged three miles on the treadmill and completed about 20 minutes of strength training. I was supposed to have an intramural softball game this evening, but it was cancelled due to rain. Boo.

My body is more than ready for me to get back into my healthy eating habits. I’ve had way too much sugar lately and combined with stress, it’s a quick recipe for a body crash. Speaking of, I’m heading to bed for a good seven hours of sleep!

What about you? Do you overindulge on Easter, or any other holiday? How do you get back on track?

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

