Makeover Week

Hey, everyone! A lot of you have seen it already, but welcome to the completely new design of Check My Pulse! I hope you’ll find it more fun to look at and easier to navigate. I’ve been working hard to bring the new design to y’all after some personal dissatisfaction with the blog, and I’m more than happy with the product I now have to present.

The old me.

The first thing you may have noticed is the name change. Formerly known as The Pulse, I switched over to a lengthier version for multiple reasons. Mainly, I was never completely sold on just The Pulse. I wrestled with a title for a really long time while creating the blog and ended up with The Pulse because it was the best I could come up with at the time. I thought it was creative, yes, but it just didn’t jump out at me. I was afraid of being forgettable.

After awhile, Check My Pulse kept popping into my head because:

  1. It was my URL with .wordpress.com attached to it. I wasn’t able to get http://www.thepulse.wordpress.com or http://www.checkthepulse.wordpress.com (and many other variations), so I resorted to checkmypulse.wordpress.com.
  2. It was lengthier and more catchy.
  3. I was more interested in that blog title than simply The Pulse.

I’ve also bought my own domain! I got rid of the pesky .wordpress.com addition and bought a domain to give my blog its very own home. Not to mention it’s easier for people to just remember checkmypulseblog.com than checkmypulse.wordpress.com. As a journalist, I also like to believe that having my own domain provides a bigger sense of professionalism than not having one. So, it’s a win-win for me.

There are a lot of other tweaks that I gave the blog, including the theme design I was operating under. I’m hoping these changes make my little corner of the blog-o-sphere more eye-catching and give you more access to the entire site.

This makeover has made me more excited for the year to come. I plan on continuing to develop the blog and have some exciting adventures planned for us!

Speaking of makeovers, did anyone catch tonight’s episode of The Biggest Loser? It was Makeover Week!

I've actually never had this done myself.

The show’s producers were even kind enough to bring in one of my favorite Project Runway pals, Tim Gunn!

Who went to the Gunn show?!

Gunn was dubbed the contestants’ “Fairy Godfather” as he worked with celebrity hair stylist Ken Paves to give them a head-to-toe makeover. He also granted each contestant three wishes (total).

  1. Complete makeover.
  2. Visit with family.
  3. Erase the yellow elimination line.

Talk about the best Fairy Godfather ever! The contestants got pretty much everything they could have asked for in that episode (short of winning the show) and didn’t have to face an elimination. Kudos, Mr. Gunn, Kudos.

Guess I wasn’t the only one ready to reveal a makeover tonight!

Now you tell me: What do you think of the blog makeover? Is there anything else you’d like to see? And did you catch The Biggest Loser? If so, which contestant got the best makeover? 

Posted on May 3, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. What a great makeover. Congrats for your new domain! Wow felt the same way with you when I got mine. 🙂

    regards,
    Andi

  1. Pingback: Sweating with Brett Hoebel « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

