Sneaking Veggies Into Your Diet

There are a lot of people out there who just plain don’t like veggies. Luckily, I’m not one of them, which I think is mostly because my mom started feeding me the healthy stuff when I was really young. But that doesn’t mean I like every type of vegetable. It was a long time before I was able to eat tomatoes without gagging and I still have difficulty with zucchini.

But I know there are some people out there who simply do not like vegetables at all. Take Amanda Nettboy, for example, who I wrote about in the May Issue of FITNESS (go pick it up now!). She absolutely hates vegetables. After working with experts, she’s learned to incorporate some of the good stuff into her diet, though.

If Amanda can do it, so can you! There are plenty of ways to sneak vegetables into your diet, one of which I did this morning.

Smoothie time.

Introducing the smoothie with spinach. A lot of healthy living bloggers do this already, but today was the first time I tested the waters myself. The idea of putting spinach in my favorite breakfast drink didn’t sound too appetizing, so I put less than a handful in. Here’s what I mixed together:

  • 1 cup frozen berries (raspberries, blackberries, strawberries and blueberries)
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tsp. cocoa powder
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Slightly less than a handful of spinach leaves

It was delicious! I made sure it would have a chocolate taste just in case I wasn’t a fan of the spinach (can’t waste food), but I loved this smoothie! You couldn’t taste the spinach at all and I got a serving of veggies already to jump-start my day. Not to mention a serving of fruit, too.

Yum.

As you can see, it gives you a decent-sized breakfast as well. I like a filling breakfast though, so I’ll probably add more fruits and veggies to the mix next time.

Other sneaky ways to fit veggies into your food:

  • Mix it in with a pasta-based dinner, like goulash. I don’t like the strong taste of peppers alone, so Dustin always mixes peppers in dinners that have a lot of competing flavors. I can barely taste the peppers this way!
  • Stir into sauces — spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce, whatever! Pour ’em in with the sauce and you’ll barely notice them.
  • Make an omelet. Tuck some spinach, peppers, broccoli, mushrooms, or any other type of veggie into the folded-over egg. If you want more food to hide the flavor, make the omelet smaller and then sandwich it between a whole-wheat English muffin.

Remember, you always want to try to get veggies into your daily diet. They’re high in fiber, low in calories and are a nutrient powerhouse. If you can, make it simple by turning veggies into your snack. I love munching on carrots with a little bit of ranch dressing, or celery with peanut butter.

How do you sneak veggies into your diet? Have you always been a vegetable lover/hater?  

Posted on May 4, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Best of luck w/ the blog, Sam. I plan on checking in regularly.

Leave a Reply

