Peanut Butter French Toast

We all know how important breakfast is because well, we’ve had it beaten into our heads ever since we were little. But does that mean we all actually take the time to eat breakfast? Nope. I used to be one of those women who didn’t eat in the morning because I wasn’t hungry or because I thought it would help me lose weight. Little did I know that I was actually canceling out weight loss efforts that I made later in the day. I didn’t truly understand why until my mom, who’s a registered nurse, explained it this way:

When you wake up in the morning, your body has already gone six to eight hours without sleeping. It should be getting some type of fuel every three to four hours at least, so you’re potentially doubling the amount of time your body goes without food when you sleep. If you wait until afternoon to eat, your body essentially shifts into starvation mode because you’re denying it the fuel it needs to make it through the day. When your body kicks into starvation mode, it feeds on muscle instead of fat, which is exactly the opposite of what you want.

A light dawned on me when she told me all of this! She had been pushing me for years to eat breakfast, and I would try every once in awhile but then fall back on the “I’m too busy” excuse.  Finally, I kicked my bad habit and now I can’t live without breakfast! Not to mention breakfast food is usually the most fun to make and I can eat it any time of the day. Eggs and toast for dinner? Yes, please!

As an avid peanut butter lover, I knew I had to incorporate more of the good stuff into my morning meals. I’ve had a lot of peanut butter and banana smoothies and my friend Nina introduced my happy stomach to peanut butter pancakes at Sanford’s Restaurant in Queens earlier this year, but I wanted something more. What’s a marvelous breakfast recipe that’s easy to whip up?

French toast!

Yum.

I mean, who doesn’t love french toast? (Except for my gluten-free friends, sorry!)

I whipped up this yummy (and extremely filling) meal the other day for Dustin and I. It only takes about 10 minutes to create and you can mix and match ingredients to make exactly what you want. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter French Toast 

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup skim or almond milk (I used skim because it’s what was in the fridge)
  • 4-8 slices whole wheat bread
  • Peanut butter (I used Jif’s Natural)
  • Cooking spray
  • Syrup, fruit, yogurt or any type of topping you want

Directions:

  • Break eggs into a wide bowl; beat lightly with a fork. Stir in cinnamon and milk.

Mixture.

  • Over medium-low heat, warm skillet or griddle coated with a thin layer of cooking spray.
  •  Spread peanut butter on one slice of wheat bread, then cover with another slice (you can coat this slice with pb too, if you want). Continue until you’ve made as many sandwiches as you would like.
  • Place the sandwiches, one at a time, into the egg mixture until both sides are coated. Transfer sandwiches to skillet, cooking until bottom is golden brown. Flip and brown the other side.
  • Serve with whatever topping you’d like. I used maple syrup this time, but think it would also go great with a medley of fruit toppings or greek yogurt.

Mmmm.

Dig in!

What french toast creations have you made? What are some of your favorite breakfast foods?

Posted on May 19, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

