Overnight Oats

Continuing with the breakfast trend of yesterday’s post, I thought I’d share another delicious treat I like to enjoy in the morning, especially because it also incorporates peanut butter! This breakfast was perfect for me while I was prepping for graduation because I was also trying to get rid of all of my food! Anyone who moves from place to place knows that the last few weeks are crazy when it comes to food — you’re going out to eat with friends that you won’t see for a while, yet you’re trying to get rid of all of the random food items in your fridge, freezer and pantry. The solution?

Overnight oats, my friends.

It’s really simple to make, but you have to do the prep work the night before. Well, you could do it the same day, but you have to wait for 30 minutes to actually eat it, so it’s better if you do it the night before. It becomes a quick grab-and-go breakfast too, making it even more glorious!

Tasty.

I know it doesn’t look like much, but I assure you, it’s delicious. I got the idea a few months back while reading Meghann’s blog at Meals and Miles, and now I have it every time I get to the end of a peanut butter jar. Which, I admit, happens more often than it probably should. Oops.

To make this yummy breakfast, grab a nearly-empty jar of peanut butter (or any nut butter) and pour in the following:

  1. 1/2 cup raw rolled oats
  2. 1/2 cup greek yogurt (I use Chobani’s vanilla. You could use regular yogurt, too.)
  3. 1/4 cup milk (I use Silk Pure Almond)
  4. Sprinkle of Cinnamon
  5. Raisins
  6. Any other mix-in you want, like berries or nuts.

Mix it all together, then toss it in the fridge for the night. Once you’re ready for your meal, just grab, give it a little stir and mow down! If you want a little more oomph to your meal, and you have the ingredients on hand, you can add granola or any type of fruit to the top of your oats mixture in the morning.

The breakfast satisfies me for a few hours, but I recommend having a healthy snack to munch on between breakfast and lunch. Whenever I have overnight oats, I usually find myself grabbing a few handfuls from this goodie bowl.

Mix 'em up.

I love trail mix and this little puppy always hits the spot! There’s a mixture of raisins, dried cranberries, dried apricots and dates in there.

Have you ever had overnight oats before? What do you like to mix in? If not, what are some of your favorite grab-and-go breakfast ideas?

Posted on May 20, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

