Bob Harper’s Inside Out Method: “Bob’s Workout”

Earlier this week, I let Bob Harper kick my booty into high-gear with his intense fitness DVD from the Inside Out Method series. I did the 30-minute “Bob’s Workout” routine on Wednesday, was ridiculously sore on Thursday, and popped the DVD in once more this afternoon.

I can already tell I’m going to be sore again tomorrow.

Yum, yum, yum.

Despite being distracted by his ridiculously good looks, I was able to focus on the workout for the entire 30 minutes. The DVD is split up into two workouts, so you can choose to do one of his two workouts, both lasting 30 minutes, or combine them for an insane 60-minute workout. If you’re not at an advanced fitness level, I don’t recommend jumping to the  60-minute workout right away. Ease into it slowly so that you’re comfortable with the progress your body makes.

One of the best parts of this DVD is the fact that you don’t stop moving. Bob constantly has you pushing for a full 30 minutes, working through a variety of total body exercises that keep your heart rate up to burn a maximum amount of calories. He had me doing things like:

  • Burpees

Hurt so good.

  • T-Stand Push-ups

Fun.

  • Alternating Lunge Jumps

Feel the burn.

And more. The exercises alternated from lower to upper body, and during each move he reminded me to keep a tight core to really get those abs burning. By the time I was halfway done, I was dripping with sweat. When the full 30 minutes were over, I felt like I was going to drop to the floor. That’s exactly the kind of workout I crave 🙂

For the first workout, Bob also made sure that each exercise could be done with light weights or no weights at all. I currently don’t have a pair of dumbbells at my house and when I first popped in the disc I was nervous that I wouldn’t get an adequate workout. I was wrong. Each move can be done without a weight, but then just add in the dumbbell for some extra oomph. Believe me, you’ll still get a workout without the weights as long as you practice good form and don’t let yourself be lazy.

As for the second workout, I wouldn’t recommend doing it unless you have weights. There are a lot of strength training moves that require the use of a dumbbell. Because I don’t have any, I’m sticking to the first workout for now. Once I get a pair I’ll throw myself through that workout and be sure to report back to y’all!

Work it.

The only other thing I’ll say about this DVD is how real it is. Bob made a very wise decision when creating this DVD (or whoever made the decision) because he didn’t have the fitness model be all cute, smiley and full of makeup. This girl went through the brutal workout, was dripping in sweat and grunting the entire time. You saw her struggle, falter in some of her movements and breathe nice and heavy. I think that’s a fantastic quality to incorporate into a workout DVD because it’s real! No girl goes through a workout, especially one like this, and smiles silently the whole way through as if she’s experiencing no pain. So I give major kudos to Bob and his DVD-making team on this one.

Have you tried this DVD, or any from the Inside Out Method series? What did you think? What are some of your favorite at-home discs?

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I have the rest of his Inside Out Method Dvds plus his Ultimate Cardio Dvd and love all of them.
    Unfortunately as I don’t reside in the US I cannot get hold of Bob’s Workout – it is only available through his website.
    Hopefully one day I’ll be able to get my hands on the DVD and the workouts.

  2. Thanks for the review! I”m starting the Inside Out Method on Monday and am looking forward to some sore muscles!

  1. Pingback: Permanent Changes « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

