Bridal Party Bliss

Back in March, I was happily working away at Relay for Life when I got an amazing call from my best friend, Liz.

Don't worry, she told me before Facebook.

She’s getting married to Joey, a boy that we grew up with. No, they haven’t been together since we were eight, but once the engagement was announced everyone said “it’s about time.” They just always had that type of relationship.

Immediately after she told me about the engagement, she asked me to be her maid of honor (MOH). I said yes without any hesitation! Ever since then we’ve been slaving away to iron out every little detail together.

You can't beat this duo.

Oh yeah, did I mention that the wedding is July 2? Talk about putting wedding planning into overdrive — four months to get everything together is the equivalent of the big day being tomorrow in wedding world! Through Liz, I’ve learned that I will be engaged for at least one year before tying the knot. There’s so much to do!

I’ve been reading a lot of wedding blogs and I noticed that there aren’t that many posts concerning the MOH. I think this is mostly because the brides are the ones to think about posting everything, but I decided it’s time for us girls in the bridal party to get some help! Being the MOH is a lot of hard work, so I’ve decided I’m going to let you in on any little secrets I pick up on along the way.

One of the biggest things I’ve helped Liz do (that isn’t directly related to the little details of the wedding) is stay on top of her fitness and nutrition. Budgets are tight, so I took the liberty of finding some workouts we can do without the gym and healthy snacks that won’t break the bank. It’s an easy thing for me to do and it takes one thing off of her to-do list. That’s a win-win if you ask me!

One of our favorite snacks? Celery and peanut butter.

Peanut butterrrr.

Or basically anything with peanut butter. She’s as addicted to the good stuff as I am and we have really similar tastes, so incorporating this goodie into our meals has been a cinch.

Liz’s family is Russian Orthodox, so the actual wedding ceremony has a lot of traditional values incorporated into it. The ceremony is going to take about an hour and a half, and I learned that for about 15 minutes I have to hold a heavy crown over Liz’s head. Needless to say, I’ve been blasting my arms to make sure my muscles are prepped for the big day. It might not sound like a long time, but holding something heavy over your head for 15 minutes is a lot of work! The best man has to do the same thing, so obviously I have to prove that I’m stronger than him 🙂

But even if I didn’t have to hold a huge crown up, I’d still want to blast my arms. After all, it’s wedding season now, which is the equivalent of tank tops and strapless dresses. Tricep dips have quickly become my best friend. They’re easy and can be done basically everywhere, plus I always feel the burn.

Burn, baby, burn.

Cardio was always my friend, but I’ve been making sure to spice up the type of cardio I do to keep different muscles working. The other day I enjoyed some ultimate frisbee and I plan on incorporating more tennis, bicycling and yoga into my routine. Today was the first day in over a week that it didn’t rain, so I went simple and headed out for a nice run. It was about 75 degrees out, so I got my first taste of summer running since Key West — it felt so good to run in just a tank top again!

Speaking of tank tops, since my dear friend Bethany loved my last top so much, I thought I’d share today’s workout gear. This is my favorite tank top to work out in and if you ask me, it’s just plain cute.

Awkward smile.

It’s the Women’s Adidas Sport Barricade Top with CLIMACOOL ventilation. Mine’s in white and navy, but I think I’m going to buy another one now that they’re available in black and green.

Now I’m off to fit in more cardio with a pickup game of soccer!

Love.

Have you ever been MOH before? Are you going to be one soon? What things would you like to see here about wedding planning?

Posted on May 22, 2011, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I’ll be an MOH this coming January – I am soooo excited! Though my beautiful bride-friend Amy and I are very far apart, I was thinking about dancing lessons as a way to make her wedding day even more super-classy…and to stay in shape until the big day! I was wondering if you had any recommendations about a DVD series or gym that had good lessons. I also just wanted to share the idea 🙂

    • Congrats on being MOH!! It’s a lot of work, but a lot of fun. I’ve really enjoyed being such an important part of Liz’s big day, and I’m sure it’s going to be great for you too.

      Dance lessons are a GREAT idea! As long as you can afford to pay for it, I say go for it! And I’m sure your friend will love it. After all, who doesn’t ant to look awesome while they get their groove on?
      I’m not really sure about a gym, you’d just have to check out the group exercise classes and see what they offer. Zumba will probably be offered at every gym, which is an exercise class based on Latin music and incorporates some Latin Dance moves. It’s not full-force dance though, it’s more about just having a good time moving to the music and working up a sweat.
      I haven’t personally used a dance-based DVD, so I don’t want to recommend something to you that comes out crappy. But if you’re just looking for a DVD that will keep you in shape, go for anything based on cardio. They’ll usually have you bopping around a lot to keep your heart rate up. Let me know what you find!

  2. 1. I can’t wait to try those tricep dips.

    2. Please keep posting your outfit pics. I love fashion and fitness sturf.

    3. Want to teach me tennis? I’ve always wanted to learn and can promise I would strengthen your patience muscles. 😉

    4. Get back here soon. ❤

    • I’m no tennis expert by any means, I just like to go, hit the ball, and chase it, basically. ha. If it goes over the net, then I’m a happy camper. You’re more than welcome to come with me though! And if you want to get a bit more serious about it, I’ll look up the actual rules 🙂

      I’ll be back soon! And I’ll keep posting my outfits 🙂

  1. Pingback: Bridal Shower Success « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Life Changes « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Making Moves « Check My Pulse

  4. Pingback: Run Before the Sun « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

