Happy National Running Day!

Today is filled with holidays! Well, really it’s only filled with two that are important to me, but that’s a lot for one day. If you couldn’t tell, one of those holidays is National Running Day!

Lace 'em up.

 National Running Day is intended for runners to “share their passion for a lifestyle that is one of the best, and simplest, ways to stay fit…head out solo to clear your mind, gab with your regular running buddies or turn an unsuspecting friend into a running friend.”

So what have I done to celebrate the holiday?

First, I laced up my sneaks and headed out for some “me time.” It was downpouring all morning, so I carefully watched and hoped for a break between the thunder and lightning. I don’t know about you, but running in lightning when surrounded by trees doesn’t sound like the greatest idea to me.

Hoping for a miracle.

Wish granted! About ten minutes after I posted this tweet, the rain stopped and the sun started shining. Already in my running gear, I leaped out the door with the goal of completing two miles as fast as I could. Nothing like a good rainstorm to force you into some speed work, right?

The weather held out for nearly the entire run and I love the way it smells right after a rainstorm, so I was a happy camper. It poured the last two tenths of the second mile, but I’m not one to complain. My bright orange shirt let cars see me and well, bright shirts just put me in a good mood.

Volleyball tourney, whaddup.

That shirt is from this year’s beach volleyball tournament at my school. The fitness centers put it on every year, and I worked for the fitness centers as a manager and personal trainer for three years, so I’m pretty proud of that baby. Sorry, none of you can buy one though. Tourney participants only! 😉

After, I did something crazy.

Holy crap.

I blame it on the runner’s high. Or this holiday. I don’t really know.

I’ve been toying with the idea of running a marathon for a while now, but was too scared to commit. Then I saw Kelly from Beneath It All blogging about her experience with this race, and I started thinking more seriously about running that distance. I love Nashville and my dad lives in Tennessee. I don’t see my dad very often and he doesn’t get to experience a lot of my big accomplishments. So why not bring this one to him?!

Then I found out that every race for the Rock ‘n’ Roll Marathon series was having a discount today only in honor of National Running Day. I just couldn’t say no; I took the plunge and registered. I’m headed to Nashville on April 28, 2012!

But Samantha, you said today had two holidays!

Don’t worry, I didn’t forget. Not only is it National Running Day, but it’s also my momma’s birthday!

Isn't she pretty?

My mom is one of the strongest women I know and she’s taught me a lot about running. No, she’s not a runner herself, so she hasn’t taught me about form, pace or anything like that, but she has taught me some key life lessons that I apply to running on a daily basis.

You gotta dig deep for what you really want. Running is an individual sport and it’s hard. You can’t rely on anyone but yourself. My mom has always been there to support me. Not in a flamboyant, ring-a-bunch-of-bells-and-dress-like-a-crazy-woman way, but in a quiet, trusting manner. And that works for me because it’s taught me to be confident in my own abilities rather than to rely on others.

Make a real goal. Not one about a certain day, a certain size, or a certain someone. If you fixate running on superficial things, you’re never going to be happy with yourself.

Be consistent. If people can’t rely on you, nobody’s going to want you around. Same goes for running. If you keep flaking out, you’re going to have to start at square one every time.

It’s all in your head. There have been many times when I’ve doubted myself and the work I’ve put into something. But anyone will tell you that I pour my heart and soul into everything I choose to take on in my life. My mom has taught me to let go of the mental clutter and fight through to my fullest potential. I’ve learned to do that with running now. When I want to give up, I push just a little harder and usually end up stronger on the other end.

It gets harder before it gets easier. I feel like life is like this all the time. The crappy stuff is always super hard and you have to sift through it before you get to the good stuff. I have to put in my long, early training runs before I reach that glorious finish line on race day.

Momma also has good taste. For her special birthday dinner we had salmon with a honey dijon mustard glaze, seasoned potatoes and roasted asparagus.

Delicious.

It was so, so good! I didn’t have large portion sizes though because I needed to save room for this puppy…

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie!

We have a garden in our backyard so the rhubarb came straight from there, and we picked up some fresh strawberries too. Delicious!

So, what have you done to celebrate National Running Day? To me, running is about focusing on yourself and forgetting about life’s problems, even if only for a little bit. Sometimes life is just about putting one foot in front of the other.

Happy Birthday to all the other June 1 babies out there!

Posted on June 1, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

Leave a Reply

