Making Goals

Whenever I hear the word “goal,” I automatically think of a European announcer during a soccer (I mean, futbol) game screaming:

GGGGGGOOOOOAAAAALLLLLLLLLL!

Best. Sport. Ever.

I guess it’s the soccer addict in me 🙂

Fortunately, I understand that “goal” has multiple meanings. In fact, I like to set a lot of goals for basically every aspect of my life. Then I create a to-do list to make sure I reach that goal. I’m totally a type-A personality.

Since graduation, I’ve basically abandoned all goal-setting techniques and let myself chill out for a bit. I’m sick of that already, so it’s time to get back into the routine I’m used to. Some big alterations need to be made though because well, I’ve graduated and everything is changing. So I don’t overwhelm you (or myself), let’s take things one step at a time, shall we?

New Fitness Goals.

We already know that I signed up for my first full-marathon on National Running Day. However, the race isn’t until April 2012, so I don’t need to start a training plan yet. Instead, we’ll start small.

1. Increase weekly mileage. 

Lately I’ve been just going with the flow and not really pushing myself as much as I could. I ran 10.5 miles and biked 4.5 miles this last week, which isn’t so hot. I’d like to get back up to 25 miles per week because I plan to run a half-marathon for my 22nd birthday celebration in November (I’m such a nerd). So this week, I’d like to get 15 miles of running in and 5-7 miles of biking. At one point, I want to complete a five-mile run because it’s been awhile since I’ve done that.

Run it out.

2. Get back into strength training.

I really miss it. Besides a few tricep dips, plank sets and oblique twists here and there, I haven’t done any this week. Part of it is because I’m waiting for my brother to look at my back so I don’t injure myself more. The other part is because I don’t have a gym membership while I’m living with my parents, and they don’t have any weights. I was doing body weight exercises before my back really started bothering me, but I quit because the pain was scarily intense. Justin moved home today, so I’m hoping to get back to strength work this week.

Tone me up.

3. Eat more fruit.

Now that summer is officially here, so much fruit is in season! I love basically any type of berry, can’t get enough watermelon, and constantly crave apples and grapes during the summer. I’ve dabbled in the fruit department since I’ve been home, but I plan to dive in head first as soon as possible. I began my dive with this delicious bowl of goodies:

I heart berries.

What fitness goals do you have for the week? 

Posted on June 5, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. OK Samantha, yesterday I placed my on-line entry for the Australian Adelaide Marathon to be run on the 28th August 2011.
    This will be my maiden marathon as was the Adelaide Greenbelt Half Marathon on the 1st May 2011 was my maiden half marathon.
    I have been running 60-80km(37-50mi) per week for the last few months with the week starting 2 weeks before my second HM on the 29th May 2011 I ran almost 120km(74mi)before tapering to only 50km(31mi) for the preceeding week to the Barossa HM on the 29th.
    With only 4 weeks between my 1st and 2nd HM I still managed to improve my official time from 1h49m57s to 1h43m04s.
    I have only been running since my 50th birthday 2 years ago and have not introduced other exercise until now. I am now planning 2 visits a week to the gym for core streangth training. I consulted a PT on this today and all is set at Paramount Gym, Woodcroft, for me to start these gym visits.
    I plan to run at least 30km(19mi) once each week with 5 X 10-15km(6.2-9.3mi)Long Slow runs each week.
    I don’t know how this is going to go but thats the plan 😉

    Samantha, don’t get me wrong, I don’t enjoy running or exercise for that matter but I do enjoy reaching goals, its about a means to an end.

    To keep my motivation I log everything to my blog at http://www.pcsa.net.au/ as well as my sporty Steve FB profile http://facebook.com/12krunner and my twitter account http://twitter.com/12krunner

    I have not played sports or been involved in any atheletic endevor since I was 11 years old and have a total lack of co-ordination stopping me playing any type of sports. Running works for me even if I don’t like it 😦
    What drives me; fitness, weight loss, goals, etc….

Leave a Reply

