Permanent Changes

Today has been a day full of change for me and I’m loving every second of it!

First change: attitude. 

A lot of things about my life are in limbo right now, mostly because I just graduated from college and am trying to coordinate everything so I can transition into that next phase of my life. Apparently I’m supposed to be a full-fledged adult now. Psshh.

Instead of freaking out over every little thing and making sure it’s going exactly the way I originally planned, I’m learning to let things go. I’m not usually a big worry wart because I’ve always believed that worry is a wasted emotion. If you can’t change something, why worry about it? Lately though, I’ve worried myself out of a lot of sleep. No more, I say, no more!

I’m going to be proactive, plaster a smile on my face, and just keep swimming 🙂

Second change: workouts. 

Since I’ve been home, I’ve tackled basically the same route every time because I haven’t wanted to endure the treacherous hills on certain paths. I hit hills no matter which way I run, but I’ve been taking the flattest route possible to avoid doing any really difficult work. Well Samantha, it’s time to nip that laziness in the bud.

Today I set out determined to run some hills. It was drizzling and windy, so I knew I’d be miserable, but for some reason I was focused on change. I wanted my muscles to scream at me, so I took the route with the most hills (and steep ones at that). I completed a 5K, which is exactly what I wanted, and even when I wanted to give up and walk, I kept pushing. I constantly thought about my marathon in April. If I’m going to run 26.2 miles, I might as well pre-train whenever possible.

Run it out.

I ended up finishing in 31:15. The time is a little slow, but I ran the last half of a mile completely uphill and I never stopped once. I simply can’t be upset with that time.

I also took time to actually pay attention to the scenery around me. I’m moving in a few short weeks and it’s hit me that I’m really going to miss the country. Open fields, fresh air, tons of trees — I just can’t get that in the Big Apple. After my run, I walked back to the stream I ran by and realized I’m really going to miss the soft lull of the water rushing over wood and rocks.

Beautiful.

I’m also going to add strength training back into my workouts on a regular basis. I miss it too much. If my back starts to bother me again, my brother will look at it and hopefully we’ll figure out what the problem is. But I can’t stay away any longer. Bob Harper is calling my name bright and early tomorrow morning. Oh, that’s the other thing I’m attempting to change –> morning workouts. We’ll see how long this lasts once I have a full-time job.

Third change: appearance. 

Only one big thing about my appearance has changed, but it’s about as permanent as it gets.

About five minutes after it was done, so it's leaking a bit.

Yep, I’m officially inked!

Don't mind the random guy's feet.

Why the 13.1? Clearly, it’s the distance of a half-marathon, which I ran for the first time in April. But it has more meaning to me than that. Basically, that race was the first thing that I ever did completely for myself and completely by myself.

I thought about this for nearly a year.

I pushed myself through the training, I motivated myself every day and I did it for me. I always put others first and for once in my life, I made myself a priority. I want to look at this tattoo every day and be reminded of how amazing I felt that whole day, even before I crossed the finish line. Some day, if I’m ever going through a rough patch in life, I want to look down at my left wrist and remember how strong, happy and determined I was. That half-marathon was more than just a race to me. It changed the way I thought about myself and that’s something I don’t ever want to give back.

All clean, before ointment.

What changes have you made lately? Or are thinking about making? Do you have any tattoos? Tell me about them! 

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

