Painting Like a Pro

First of all, thank you so much for your great comments and advice concerning my last post about getting back on track with food! It feels good to know I’m not the only one who has slip-ups here and there, plus y’all have some great tips!

I do want to clarify quickly though that I am not binge-eating when I talk about getting off track. I still eat proper portion sizes, I just haven’t made the best decisions when choosing which meals I’m going to have. For example, instead of having an adequate lunch during the last two weeks, I’d eat something super-small, be starving later, and go for whatever craving I saw first. Either way, I just thought I’d clear that up quickly because I’m proud of the portion control I’ve been able to instill in myself when it comes to indulgences. I fully believe in an “everything in moderation” policy when it comes to food, I just needed to scale back to proper moderation.

In other news, today has been a great Friday! I kicked things off with a delicious breakfast.

Rather tasty breakfast.

For some reason I was craving eggs today, but the thought of two didn’t sound appetizing. Weird, right? I went with it though and cooked up one egg to enjoy alongside a whole wheat English muffin (small smear of Smart Balance buttery spread) and a huge orange. Yum!

I perused the blog-o-sphere while I waited for my stomach to digest my breakfast, then laced up my sneaks and headed out for the run. The weather was perfect – not too hot or cold — because a thunderstorm was making its way into town. I love running right before and after a rain storm. The weather just always feels perfect to me.

Anyway, my run was phenomenal! I had my Garmin on but decided to ignore it after I hit the one-mile mark. My body felt amazing, my legs were fresh and my breathing was in a great pattern. I didn’t want to do anything to screw it up, so I just kept movin’ and groovin’ to the music pumping through my earbuds. I didn’t focus on running fast, I just wanted to run!

This run felt great.

I ended up completing 4.2 miles. I would’ve liked to hit five miles, and I know my body was up for it, but well, nature called. I couldn’t wait any longer, so I took a short cut home. I was a little slower than I usually am on my runs, but like I said, I just wanted to keep moving and didn’t focus on time at all. I felt so great afterward!

After a long stretch, a quick shower and getting ready for work, it was time for lunch!

An odd mix, but it works.

I had two pieces of leftover grilled chicken from last night’s dinner, a large banana and a bag of 15 pretzels. I ended up being full after the chicken and banana, so I saved the pretzels and noshed on them later in the day (hence the plastic baggie). I also ate an apple, which snuck by photography.

Hi ho, hi ho, it’s off to work I go went. I’ve been working for Liz’s aunt the last two weeks to help get their house ready to sell. Which basically means I have become a painting pro. I painted their downstairs bathroom and am working on their upstairs bathroom. They had some pretty funky wallpaper in each room beforehand, so it’s taking awhile to make sure everything’s pretty. Not to toot my own horn, but the first bathroom came out pretty spiffy!

Sally loves sea shells down by the sea shore...

They were going for a beach theme. Cute, right?

Mellow yellow.

If anyone needs a room painted, I’m your girl 😉

This is what the upstairs bathroom looked like before I started finished putting two coats of white primer on it.

Yucky brown.

And this is me after a long day of painting.

Hot, sweaty mess.

The lighting in this whole room is funky right now, but I can assure you that this room is now obnoxiously white! Don’t worry, it’ll be green after.

Did you know that painting can be an awesome workout? I’ve done a ton of calf raises in the last week, not to mention squats and plenty of work with my arms raised above my head. I was constantly moving every day for four to six hours at a time. Feel the burn!

Speaking of moving around for long spurts of time, tomorrow is another Relay for Life! I’m participating in the community Relay at a local high school track with my whole family. I’ve never been a part of a community Relay, only the ones at my college, so this will be interesting! I have to be there at 9 a.m. and will be there until noon on Sunday (yes, over 24 hours of walking), so I probably won’t be able to post. I’m walking for a cure, baby!

All of the fam except brother Justin at Relay 2010.

I will make sure to update you on the event though, as well as give you the full story about why Relay is so important to me. If you feel moved to donate to the American Cancer Society (for a tax-deductible donation), please feel free to access my mom’s fundraising page. I don’t have my own set up for this Relay because I raised $526 for my other Relay for Life and well, I think I’ve tapped everyone out this year. But if you’re feeling generous, my whole family really appreciates it! Fighting cancer is really important to all of us.

With my college roomie Meghan at Relay 2009.

Have a great weekend!

What unconventional workouts do you love? Have you participated in a Relay for Life this year, or ever? 

Posted on June 17, 2011, in Cancer Awareness, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. We got a whole house that needs repainting in the next month 😉 I’ve already picked out the colors and the new flooring. We are on a role. So feel free to come to Binghamton if you get bored of NYC, its only a 2.5hr drive. lol.

  1. Pingback: Making Moves « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

