Kicking off July

What a crazy week it’s been! I had a wedding to pull off, a move across the state into my new permanent home and a transition into a new job.

Not to mention it all happened on Fourth of July weekend. Fun, right?

Boom Boom Pow.

Macy's Fireworks in NYC.

So to catch you all up, Liz’s wedding was fantastic. Post on that to come soon. But it was beautiful and I loved seeing my best friend in the whole wide world so incredibly happy. Now she’s settling into her new home in Oklahoma and I miss her like crazy. We’ve already planned a reunion in September because clearly we can’t stand being apart for long. Plus it’s her dad’s birthday. Win-win, if you ask me!

Less than 12 hours after the wedding, I packed all of my stuff into a U-Haul and made the trek down to my new apartment in Astoria. My apartment is gorgeous and I’m in love all over again with this area. It just feels like…home. That’s the only way to describe it. Yes, I have my home with my family and I love being there because that’s where my roots are, but it just feels right being here, like it’s where I’m supposed to be.

Breaking in my new blender, a surprise Maid of Honor gift!

I started my new job on Tuesday after the holiday was over. I’m currently doing freelance work and I absolutely love working in the magazine industry. Hopefully something more permanent comes my way soon!

Victoria and Jake, two of my roomies, on July 4th.

Libby and Nina. Libby's a roomie, Nina practically is, too.

In between it all, I’ve enjoyed some delicious eats, like brunch at Sanford’s and a homemade picnic that we all brought to the fireworks show on July 4th. Frankly, it put every other picnic to shame.

Myriad of food, before it was all spread out.

We had bruschetta, a nacho bar, fruit salad, hummus and pita chips. A mix of healthy and indulgences. I had a bit of everything and enjoyed every last crumb.

Mowin' down.

I’m still figuring out a routine for my new life, but I’m going to be back to regularly scheduled blogging 🙂 I promise to have a more interesting post tomorrow!

What have you been up to this week? Any big changes in your life? 

Posted on July 7, 2011, in Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. hi nice story if you dont mind ill share your blog and you share mine? plz

  1. Pingback: Facing Fears + College Reunions « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: I’m Thankful For « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

