Exploring New Places

Changing nearly everything about your life is tough. In the last three months I’ve essentially made big life changes to transition into being an adult. It’s weird, but exciting at the same time.

Not to mention tough to balance everything out.

Fitness fell by the wayside this week while I tried to adjust to everything. I only worked out twice, but I already have workout dates planned for Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Friday next week. Best part? Thursday I get to workout for my job. Seriously, I think that’s one of the coolest things ever. I get my sweat on for my job. Score.

Although fitness wasn’t a priority this week, healthy eating was. I went grocery shopping at the beginning of the week and have all of my healthy goodies that I missed so much, like hummus, natural peanut butter, greek yogurt and almond milk. I’ve been chugging water all day, every day like it’s my job (maybe it kind of is since I sweat for work?), so my skin has been reaping the benefits.

I had this deliciousness for lunch twice this week. I bring it from home to save money and if you don’t do this too, you should definitely start. It’s so much cheaper to pack a lunch and it doesn’t have to be a boring sandwich.

I love salsa.

This is full of spinach, carrots, grape tomatoes, black beans, gorbanzo beans, jalapeno peppers and feta cheese. Instead of salad dressing, I opted for salsa. Best. Decision. Ever. It’s so good and I highly recommend you try it.

My roommate, Libby, and I are both really tight with our budgets for now, so we agreed that we are only allowed to go out to eat once a week to explore new restaurants. This is extremely hard because well, there are a lot of great places in New York City and I want to eat at them all! Yesterday was a special occasion because her dad was in town from Washington, D.C., so we ventured down to Little Italy after work for some grub with him.

Welcome to Little Italy? Thank you!

Her dad wanted authentic Italian (who doesn’t?), so we hit up Da Nico Ristorante. It was delicious! We were a little late arriving, so her dad already had a bread basket and mini cheese and spinach pizza waiting at the table. The bread was incredibly light and fluffy; I didn’t even have to add butter! I had one small piece of bread and two slices of the pizza. Libby stole my crust though because she can’t have dairy, so I handed it over šŸ˜‰

Roomie love.

I had a glass of Merlot with my dinner, which was a lobster rigatoni with a light vodka sauce. YUM! Extremely delicious and extremely filling. Each bite was fantastic.

Overall, this is a great place to eat. It’s a bit pricey, but the food is definitely worth the cost. I didn’t snap any photos because it was an intimate atmosphere and I didn’t want to disturb any other diners.

We walked a block over to Ferrara Bakery after, which is the very first authentic Italian bakery to hit the Big Apple.

Authenticity, right here.

Everything looked delicious.

Yummmm.

Gimme dat!

I look like I’m about to mow down on that tartlet despite the glass.

So pretty.

Luckily, I refrained. I actually showed some self-control and didn’t order anything. I was so stuffed from dinner and I didn’t want to get that gross feeling later. Next time I’m in the area though, I’m definitely ordering something. I bet those treats are as delicious as they look!

I woke up this morning determined to run, so I laced up my sneaks and headed over to Astoria Park, which is just over a half mile from my apartment. I jogged there as a warm-up, then ran along the river and the border of the park to cover four miles by the end of my run. I could tell I didn’t run all week, but I still think I did pretty well.

Hello, Queensboro bridge.

I have a nice view, no?

I was craving serious amounts of water when I got home and I immediately chugged a glass from my Oswego State glass. I gotta represent!

SSS = Seriously sexy sweating.

Apparently I really loved my glass in that moment. Thanks B-Wallace for the graduation gift!

I also did some serious shopping for work clothes today, so be prepared for some pictures later this week. And now I’m out to visit my other roommate, Victoria, at work for a drink or two!

How do you explore a new city? I love to check out places by foot. I seriously think you discover great things when you’re sweating in a new area. Any NYC restaurants you love?Ā 

Posted on July 9, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. When your parents come to visit you should take your stepdad to Nizza. Its in the broadway district and has some great food and the owner is gluten free so the gf menu is banging too. They even make their own bread! Also, Risotteria on Bleecker Street has some of the best GF pizza I have ever tasted, definitely a great treat for your stepdad. šŸ™‚

    When I first moved to Binghamton I would eat out with my friends at a new restaurant every week as well to get a feel for the area. I need to move to a big city, for real. šŸ™‚

  2. Oh my god. That salad. That bakery. That sexy sweat.

    Drool.

Leave a Reply

