SoulCycle is Cathartic

Happy Monday! I don’t know about you, but there’s nothing like kickin’ off the week with a fantastic workout.

That’s exactly what I did this morning when I trekked down to Union Square for an 8 a.m. spin class at SoulCycle.

Therapy.

I met up with my friend Jenna bright and early to get our sweat on. She loves SoulCycle and I enjoyed it when I went for a class last summer, so I figured I’d pair up with her for my next few sessions. I got some gift certificates for the studio, so I’m putting them to good use! Plus, I need to get as many free workouts as I can…I simply can’t afford a gym membership right now.

Anyway, it felt great to do something other than running! I’ve always loved spinning, but haven’t been able to take a class since I graduated from college back in May. I love that SoulCycle turns off the lights and the whole class is lighted only by candle light. My instructor, Clare, had the perfect amount of intensity, encouragement and mental grit pulsating through the room and I really pushed myself to the limit.

Random photo of my yummy lunch. Lots o' veggies.

Everything about this class was great. The upper body exercises we incorporated into a few songs, the music itself, the energy in the room and the level to which I pushed myself. It was all phenomenal. I felt like I was letting go of all of the stress I had been dealing with and just focused on the burn in my muscles, the sweat dripping down my face and the force of my legs pushing the wheel round and round. It was cathartic.

Whoever thinks spinning is just a workout is crazy.

Or maybe I am. I’m not sure which one is right, but I’m going to say the former.

Regardless, I felt amazing after the workout. I forgot to take a picture, but I’ll be sure to include some sweaty goodness for you tomorrow.

However, I did remember to take a picture after I was dressed for work. I get ready so much faster when I don’t have my computer distracting me.

I love new work clothes.

This is new dress numero uno! I’m in love with it and got it at H&M for only $34.95!

How was your Monday? How do you feel about spinning?

Posted on July 11, 2011, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. My Monday was pretty good! I had a productive day at work, treated myself to pizza, and had was really inspired by my church’s new inspiration call. Top it off with Numb3rs on Netflix Watch Instantly, and I was a pretty happy girl. šŸ™‚

    I went to one spinning class in my life. It was pretty good. It is definitely a workout. I just didn’t have that connection to it that I do to other workouts, like yoga. I didn’t get that feeling where my mind clears and when I leave class I feel empty of all the crap I came in with for a little while. I felt a lot of “I’m going to die” and some congratulations that I made it through, though. šŸ˜‰

    • I think it definitely depends on 1.) the atmosphere and energy of the spin class and 2.) the instructor. They can make or break a spin class for you. The smallest things can set people off, I’ve noticed. I’ve been to my fair share of spin classes that completely turn me off, but SoulCycle just does it for me. I always feel amazing afterward.

      And with yoga, I always feel great afterward, but I can never get my mind to connect. it won’t ever relax! And half the time I feel awkward because my flexibility and balance stink, so I wobble in a lot of poses. Oops! Hopefully I’ll get better šŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Sweating with Brett Hoebel « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Britney Spears Workout « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Facing Fears + College Reunions « Check My Pulse

  4. Pingback: Hilly Miles Are My Friend « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

