Farmer’s Market Fun

Happy Saturday!

I love the weekends simply because I’m free to roam about the city and get things done without any pressure. I had planned on going for a long run this morning, but Taboo and friends kept me up until 2 a.m., so when my alarm clock sounded off, I rolled over and hit the snooze button. So instead, I immediately embraced my leisurely weekend attitude and decided to switch things up.

First up: Friends and I headed down to Union Square to hit up the farmer’s market. I LOVE the farmer’s market. The produce is so much better and oftentimes much cheaper. I’m sticking to a tight budget though, so I just picked up some cucumbers to enjoy with hummus, feta cheese and chickpeas for lunch all next week 🙂

Although there were these pretty pepper trees that tempted me.

Peter Piper picked a peck of pickled peppers.

Too bad I don’t have a green thumb and would kill it in less than a week.

We found a truck that was giving out free iced tea and iced coffee too. It was some company that was trying to get people to sign up for an HP product. I don’t get the correlation, but I got a free iced tea without signing up for anything. Win!

Do you get the connection?

We love free stuff.

It was exactly the refresher I needed.

I like my fishy drink face.

My tummy started grumbling at the sight of all the food in the market, so I quickly realized my budget was not too tight for a 16 Handles trip. After all, we were only about six blocks away from the delicious treat and I soon found out that Jake and Victoria had never experienced this fro-yo. Say no more!

Jake seems to really enjoy it.

They were fans.

Perfection.

I had a mix of red velvet, peanut butter and birthday cake, with a myriad of toppings. Blueberries, strawberries, brownie bits and Reese’s pieces. Yum.

Here’s a question: how do you pronounce Reese’s pieces? I’ve heard people pronounce it REE-SEE-‘S PEE-SEES, and others say it just like you would say Reese’s peanut butter cup. I catch myself switching between the two all of the time.

This has nothing to do with pronunciation, but I always loved this Reese’s commercial. Did you have a favorite?

Now I’m off to do some Bikram yoga…I’m a newbie, so this will be interesting. Especially because it’s so hot today. But I’ve been drinking water all day (excuse me as I chug some more) in preparation, so hopefully it will be a pleasant experience. I’ll be sure to report back later!

I’ve also been cooking up an awesome new workout playlist. A mix of new hits and oldies but goodies. After all, you always need the best of both worlds, right?

How’s your Saturday going? What do you think of Bikram yoga? 

Posted on July 16, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ah! You’re going! Yay! I can’t wait to read all about it!

  1. Pingback: Old Town Cottonwood Farmer’s Market « rAZmatAZ

Leave a Reply

