The Great Fundraising Act

My oh my, today was quite a Manic Monday! But before we get into that, let me show you pretty pictures from my early morning run today.

Love this view.

The heat wave is over! *Fingers crossed* The temperature was nice and cool this morning as I ran alongside the river. My legs felt fresh and I really pushed myself hard the entire run.

Wake up, NYC!

So hard, in fact, that I even made negative splits! I’ve never done that before!

Yay for blurry, sweaty mirror pictures!

I officially started my pre-half-marathon training plan today, if that makes sense. I’ve decided that I’m going to combine an intermediate and advanced training plan for when I officially start training on September 5 (will provide that plan soon!). But I’m anxious to get started now and I want to comfortably work up to that intermediate/advanced level without stressing myself out, so I started a beginner plan this morning.

Run it, run it, run it.

I only had to do three miles today, so I ran a loop that I’ve mapped out to the water fountain next to the track in the park. It’s exactly 1.5 miles away, so it was perfect for me to snag a quick sip of water and be on my way!

After my fantastic run, I bounded to work where things were quite busy! The best part of my day? Getting all the details about The Great Fundraising Act, which I’m sure you’ve all heard about by now. It’s an online auction that has all the proceeds going to Susan from The Great Balancing Act. Susan was recently diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma and my heart goes out to her. This blogging community has kicked major butt today — as of 5:00 p.m. this afternoon, TGFA had raised over $20,000 for Susan!

If you want to read my full article on TGFA for FITNESS magazine,  you can view it here. And the auction isn’t over until 11 p.m. so make sure you check it out and bid on some awesome goodies! But if the stuff that’s left isn’t in your realm of wonderfulness, or it’s just not feasible for your wallet, you can always make a direct donation to Susan. She has to pay for all of her medicine, which costs about $5,000 a month, so every bit helps!

Now I’m off to get some more work done before heading to bed early (hopefully)!

How was your Monday? Did you bid on anything in The Great Fundraising Act? I totally wanted that year supply of Chobani!

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Cancer Awareness, Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. a) That bridge picture is stunning! Did you take it yourself?
    b) I am also training for a half marathon so I can’t wait for you to post your plan – I might use a bit of it for inspiration 😉

    • Yes, I did take it myself, thank you!! I’ll definitely post my plan soon. You can find my beginner plan under my Races tab (I’m using the same one for now until I jump over to the intermediate/advanced level).

  2. My Monday has been great so far. I spent it with my mom, saw the Harry Potter movie, went out for dinner, and am now relaxing

Leave a Reply

