Facing Fears + College Reunions

Happy August! I hope everyone had a fabulous weekend and is ready to kick off August on a great note! I know I sure am…but man, where did summer go?! I can’t believe how fast it’s flying by. Why does summer seem to disappear so quickly when winter always drags on? I’m not a fan.

Anyway, I thought I’d share some fabulous things that I did over the weekend. First up, my Friday morning at SoulCycle.

Before I whipped off my shirt. © SoulCycle

I went to the Sports Bra Challenge in Union Square for the 9:30 a.m ride. To give you the short summary, I’ve always been terrified of working out in just a sports bra. I always think I’ll be judged and am just not confident enough in my own skin to get my sweat on sans tank top. With the help of instructor Jenny Gaither, Biggest Loser season 11 winner Olivia Ward and her sister, runner-up Hannah Curlee, I put my fears aside and rode it out with a whole room full of women who were only wearing sports bras!

Sweaty beasts! © SoulCycle

It was fantastic. Invigorating, inspiring, energetic, motivational. I could go on and on describing this class. The energy pulsating throughout the room was insane. The music was perfect. Jenny was incredible. Everything about this class was great. I haven’t pushed myself this hard in a class before (seriously, I left sooo much sweat on the bike) and I felt so accomplished and beautiful at the end.

Hannah, Jenny and Olivia rocked it out with me. © SoulCycle

If you want to check out my full recap, you can read my blog post about it for FITNESS.

After my class I hopped on a bus with Dustin and made my way to Oswego for the annual Harborfest festival! A bunch of my college friends were up visiting for the weekend and Bare Naked Ladies were playing a free concert, so I was able to have a ton of mini-reunions, listen to great throwback music, and stay with my old roomie Meghan! Thanks for housing us, Meghster!

Love this girl.

Meg and I go way back. We lived right next door to each other freshman year and became fast friends. After that, we were roommates for three years! We lived together in the dorms for sophomore and junior years, then moved off campus with a third roomie (Kayleigh!) senior year. We’ve made a ton of memories, this girl and I!

They're friends, too.

It really was great to be away from technology for the weekend and just enjoy being around friends for the weekend. I got back to my country roots for a bit and soaked in all of the nature. Being back by lake Ontario was awesome too.

Can you spot the lighthouse?

Perfect summer day.

The weather was perfect summer weather! I spent the majority of my time outside and soaked in my fair share of rays (with SPF). I even enjoyed the three fabulous B’s.

Pure bliss.

Harborfest is also extremely well-known for their fireworks display. Seriously, they rival the Macy’s Fourth of July Fireworks Show in NYC. I was at both this year and honestly, Harborfest won this time around. Sorry New York, I love you, but I have to be honest!

I ran some errands on Sunday, visited some more friends, then boarded another bus back to the city. After an extremely frustrating trip back, I happily collapsed into my bed. Overall though, it was a glorious weekend. Many great memories were made and I’m so glad I went.

What fun things did you do this weekend? Can you believe it’s August already? I’ll have a goals post up tomorrow!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Exercise, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. July for me dragged mostly because my husband wasn’t here. But it is hard to believe that we only have 5 months or so until the end of the year!

  1. Pingback: August in Review « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Mexican Love at El Cantinero « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Feel-Good Friday, Even Though It’s Saturday « Check My Pulse

  4. Pingback: Let’s Get Personal: Round Four « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

