Official Goal Setting

Nearly all of the blogs I follow have people posting goals and well, I have goals of my own, so why not make them public? I’m totally a type-A personality where I have to establish immediate, short-term and long-term goals, so that’s what I’m going to do now. Aren’t you excited?!

First, we’ll tackle fitness goals.

  • Stick to half-marathon pre-training plan.

I don’t officially start training for my November 20 half until September 5, but I started pre-training on a beginner plan last week to give myself a solid base before jumping to an intermediate plan. I want to stick to it so I’m adequately prepared to kick a$$ at this half-marathon.

  • Incorporate more strength training.

This has been seriously lacking lately and I know it’s because I’m making excuses. The “I can’t afford a gym membership” is the most common one I cite, even though I know perfectly well that there are plenty of awesome strength moves that can be done outside of a gym, and even without weights! I snagged a pair of five-pound dumbbells from work today to use at home, so now I really have no excuses.

  • Push myself on speed.

I was getting lackadaisical in the speed department, just plodding along in my runs. I’ve started to really push myself and am working to figure out exactly where a “comfortably hard” pace is for me. Look how much my time increased just from three runs last week!

Day one.

Day two.

Day three.

  • Continue spinning and incorporate more yoga.

My plan is to spin one day a week and do yoga once a week.  I love spinning, so that won’t be a problem. As for yoga, I just need to suck it up and do it. I love when I actually go, so I just need to make the time for it.

Moving on to nutrition goals.

  • Cook dinner.

Note: do not assume this means I eat dinner out a lot. I don’t. I’m way too poor for that. No, i just don’t cook dinner. I find whatever is easiest for me to whip up at home and have that for dinner instead. Hummus sandwiches, peanut butter bagel thins, smoothies and eggs have quickly become my go-to meals at night. This needs to stop. I can cook, I just hate doing it. Suck it up, Sam!

It doesn't even have to be complicated. I like simple.

Next up: overall health. 

  • Sleep more.

I’m juggling a lot of things while trying to get into a solid routine and I’m slipping into my old habit of putting sleep on the back burner. I need to make a conscious effort to get to sleep earlier. To be specific, I’m aiming to have my computer turned off by 11 p.m. each night. Baby steps.

  • Take my daily vitamin.

I just started taking a multi-vitamin again. Let’s remember to pop that pill every morning.

Just do it.

Finally, a few life goals. 

  • Get a full-time job.

I’ve been working on a freelance basis for a month now while searching for something more permanent. My hope is to have secured a full-time position by the end of the month, mainly because I need health insurance in a bad way. Having a blood disorder + no health insurance = recipe for disaster.

  • Buy my personal training certification books.

I’m going to get my personal training certification. I’m determined. I already know what program I’m going to go through. I already have one of the books; I just need to buy the rest of the study material. Because money is tight, my only goal is to have the materials bought by the end of the month.

Working at my old gym in college.

  • Establish a blogging schedule.

I’ve gotten into a routine of posting late at night and that definitely doesn’t help with my “getting more sleep” goal. I’m going to play around with this a bit and will hopefully have an established posting schedule (that’s earlier in the day) by the end of the month.

Phew, that’s a lot of goals! I’m going to do my best to tackle them all though. Fingers crossed for a happy and healthy August!

What are some of your goals for this month? 

P.S. I just realized I have nine goals for this month. What a surprise, my lucky number popping up again! 

Posted on August 2, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Mental Health, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Samantha –
    Thanks for sharing your goals. All sounds great! Good luck to you with pre-training. I love NYC. My dream would be to live on upper west or east side near Central Park. Have a great day.
    Anne

  2. These are fantastic goals! Love your blog!

  3. One of my goals is to run 160+ miles and not stress out about our big move. I’m already failing on the second goal miserably.

  4. Jillian Michaels Yoga Meltdown DVD, The Trainers Edge – Long and Lean Yoga with Baron Baptiste, and MTV Yoga are my 3 favorite at home yoga DVDs. All can be found for around $10. 😉

    • Hmm good to know. I wanna check out Bob Harper’s Yoga DvD too…I’ll give it a whirl, but I have a feeling it’ll be harder for me to get into a yoga workout at home than at a studio. I love the energy at a studio!

  1. Pingback: Foodie Fun « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Making Goals: September « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

