Whole Foods Summer Blockbuster Food Tour

Hey guys, happy Thursday! So sorry I”ve been gone for so long, but I have bad news. My power cord has bit the dust and my computer will no longer hold a charge, so I haven’t been able to blog 😦 I would blog during my lunch break at work, but things have been so incredibly busy there that I haven’t been taking a legit lunch break so I can fit everything in before deadlines! Luckily, my beloved roommate Libby is letting me borrow her computer tonight because she’s seen me suffering withdrawals. So blogging will be sporadic until I get a new power cord, but I’m still connecting via Facebook and Twitter, and reading comments, I promise!

Now that we got that out of the way, I thought I’d share what I was up to last night because it was quite fun. At least it was in my opinion and that’s what counts, right 😉 (Just kidding!)

Anyway, once I got out of work I hightailed it over to Whole Foods on the Upper West Side because my co-worker Karla blogged about this event. Free food based on Blockbuster hits? Sign me up! I rallied my entourage, which only included Dustin and Nina this time around, and prepared for a night of wonderful eats.

How it worked: Stations were set up throughout the store with signs referencing which movie they were representing. Employees gave us sample sizes of each treat, and the ingredients used to make them were at the stations so you could see exactly what product it was in case you wanted to buy some. First stop, kettle corn!

This was one of my favorite stations! I’m seriously addicted to kettle corn lately, and this stuff was extremely delicious. There was no movie to base this off of, but I think that’s because it was the first station, so it was like entering a movie theater and getting the obligatory popcorn treat.

Next we went to The Jungle Book station. I was seriously excited about this because I LOVED The Jungle Book when I was growing up. “I wanna be like you-oo-oo!” Best song ever, right?! I eagerly bustled over to the station, but sadly found out the treat was mango curried soup. Mango makes me sick, so I opted out. Dustin gave it a go…

So did Nina…

Neither were fans. One strike against Whole Foods on this one.

Then it was time for an intermission, but only because I saw the sushi section was giving away samples of California Rolls. YUM! It wasn’t part of the tour, but I snagged one anyway.

It was delicious and completely worth the tour break. Now back to regularly scheduled programming…

Eat, Pray, Love was represented next with a spaghetti-like dish. The employee took forever to make each sample because she was so talkative and at certain times I was screaming in my head, “Please give me my food!” But the wait really wasn’t awful and was well worth it. This was my favorite actual dish of the night and I took a recipe card home so I can recreate it.

I’ve never actually heard of Like Water for Chocolate, but Whole Foods gave ’em some love with a soy chocolate almond smoothie. My entourage cheered and we downed it like a shot.

Sweet Chili Salmon was next on the menu, representin’ Ocean’s Eleven and it was phenomenal. I took a recipe card home for this one. I’ve been craving salmon like crazy lately and was so glad to get a little taste of it last night. I definitely want to try this dish at home soon.

Doesn’t it just look good cooking in there? I’m telling you, it tasted phenomenal.And they used this sauce, which I’m excited to test out myself.

Nina’s favorite station was next because for some reason she’s highly addicted to pepperoni. Channeling Mystic Pizza (Another that I haven’t seen…is this bad?), Nina downed five or six pieces while Dustin and I respectfully stuck to two.

But it’s ok, this is a judgement-free zone 🙂

And last but not least, a station was out for Julie & Julia. How could they not have a station for this! They had a simple spread of a flatbread cracker with cheese and blackberry jam. Holy sweetness yum. Give this to me when I’m having a bad day and I will eat it all in a hot second.

And that was the end of the tour! Overall, it was a lot of fun. You weren’t corralled anywhere, so you could go to any station whenever you wanted and as many times as you wanted. Nina did this multiple times with the pepperoni. And the kettle corn…

But I followed her to the kettle corn. I’m not sorry.

It was a fun, cheap way to be out on the town and get some food in my belly. Plus I got some new recipes to try at home (which means I really need to start cooking) and a free dinner. Although I did munch on two scoops of ice cream later. Regardless, it was a ton of fun and I would definitely recommend it!

What wasn’t so much fun? The subway ride home when the doors in my car REFUSED. TO. OPEN. FOR. TEN. MINUTES. Not cool. Nina and I kept telling each other jokes so we wouldn’t start hyperventilating. Dustin just shook his head at us in shame.

Once the doors finally opened, we promptly switched cars and made it home safely.

And that was my free-food-filled Wednesday night! I have a great story about my Thursday night too, but we’ll save that for another post (hopefully tomorrow).

Has your computer power cord ever died? Recommendations on where to get a new one? What fun food finds have you discovered recently?

Posted on August 11, 2011, in Food, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. This sounds like so much fun! I have had my power cord die, well actually the part where the power cord connects to the computer is what stopped working (this happens). I’m talking about the little metal insert. But I had my power cord replaced as well. Tigerdirect.com is the place to go. Everything is at great discount prices there. Check it out, get a new power cord, and get back to blogging. I was going through withdrawl.,…

  2. Looks like a fun night even if there weren’t many super stellar samples. I wouldn’t be a fan of mango and curry either. LOL

  3. What a fun evening!!

    I’ve never had trouble with a power cord but I hope you get your new one soon!

  4. I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

Leave a Reply

