Foodie Fun

Seems like I’ve been talking about food a lot lately, huh? I can’t help it when I’ve been noshing on some delicious treats and just want to share! So without further ado, here’s what I’ve been up to the last few days…

Thursday night I went to a fantastic fundraising event to support Ali as she’s raising money for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America while training for her very first marathon.

Ali had a ton of stuff going on that night, selling awesome T-shirts (that I bought), raffles (bought again), trivia (that I played) and free food and wine.

Free food and wine? I’m there.

The whole event was great. I love the T-shirt and she had pretty sweet prizes being raffled off. Although I didn’t win anything (eh hem, Ali… 😉 ), it was fun to be surrounded by so many fellow runners and bloggers.

I also realized that I am not nearly as good at ’90s trivia as I thought. I only knew the answers to most of the Boy Meets World questions. Apparently she asked FRIENDS questions, which you all KNOW I would have dominated, but I had scooted out before that round of trivia popped up. Drat.

Ali also just found out that 16 Handles caters events, so she’ll likely be having another fundraising event with her favorite fro-yo company in attendance. So if you’re in NYC and don’t want to miss out, stay tuned! And if you’re not in NYC but want to see what Ali’s fundraising efforts are all about, check out her website. If you feel inclined to donate to her awesome cause, you may do so here.

I popped over to 16 Handles afterward with my roommate (how could we not when we were so close!?) and then hopped on a subway home. When I arrived, a fantastic package was waiting for me.

I love Amazon! I ordered the goodies inside on Tuesday and they were here by Thursday. Love fast service. But I love what was inside the package even more.

My second book for my personal training certification! That’s right people, I now have two out of the three study materials and I have plans to purchase the final one with my next paycheck. I’d say I’m doing a good job keeping up with this August goal, don’t ya think?

But I can’t let you think I purchased this book myself because I definitely didn’t. A huge shout-out and thank you to one of my creative writing professors at Oswego, Donna Steiner, who sent me a gift card to Amazon to buy the book! How sweet is she?! She sent me a message on Facebook after reading about my August goals and said she wanted to invest in my future. I almost cried.

This is why I love Oswego. The people there are amazing. Even though I’ve already graduated from college, my professors still keep an interest in me, stay in touch and offer to help me succeed in any way they can. You don’t get that everywhere and I couldn’t be more grateful for having these wonderful people in my life. Thank you again, Donna!

Friday was a calm night, but I did get to go running in new running clothes, courtesy of a fitness fashion sale at work. Love getting a new running tank, shorts and sneaks all for less than $10.

Is it weird that I don’t get nearly as excited for regular fashion sales as I do fitness fashion sales?

By the way, I didn’t realize it until after I went running, but I feel like I’m ready to go to cheerleading practice again in this outfit. For some reason, this screams cheerleader to me and it’s something I totally would’ve gone to practice in back in the day. But alas, those are running sneakers, not cheer shoes, my friends. Don’t be fooled.

I also had some delicious eats on Friday, starting with breakfast. It started off normal with a bowl of oatmeal and blueberries, but then I eyed Libby’s batch of peanut butter cookies that she made based on a recipe from Julie. I quickly snatched one up and breakfast went from great to oh-my-word delicious.

I love peanut butter in the morning.

I didn’t know what to make for lunch, so I just grabbed random things from my fridge and threw them together, hoping they would taste good together. I ended up with a salad consisting of:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Shredded cheese
  • Chickpeas
  • Blueberries
  • Raspberry vinaigrette salad dressing

Yum! I was nervous about the chickpeas and blueberries together, but it worked well. It was a sweet-tasting salad, but I think that’s mostly because of the dressing. I would swap that for something else next time, but this is the only dressing I had on hand. I’ll count this lunch as a winner!

I’ll also declare my nighttime dessert a winner…BlueBunny’s White Chocolate Raspberry Frozen Yogurt alongside another peanut butter cookie.

Saturday involved a lot of foodie fun! Libby and I went to the farmer’s market and fell in love all over again. While Libby was figuring out which crazy concoction she wants to cook  up next, I stared at the pretty boxes that held jam. Mmmm, jam.

And contemplated which bottle of wine to purchase.

But I did actually buy some other good stuff. Along with a bottle of delicious wine from the Finger Lakes (for only $8, thankyouverymuch), I got two ears of corn, four boxes of blackberries (smoothie time!) and a jar of black raspberry jam. There were plenty of other things I wanted to buy, but I needed to stick to my weekly budget. I’ll be headed back down soon to pick up more goodies though, that’s for sure.

Then Libby and I went to Lululemon for new sports bras and Jack Rabbit to have our running gaits looked at. Turns out my new kicks are perfect for my feet, and Libby knows exactly which pair she’s picking up next.

Quite a productive few days, if I do say so myself. I went on a three-mile run in the rain this morning, which made me miss soccer like crazy. All of my best games were played in the rain, and I was scouted by a college while playing a phenomenal game in the rain. But alas, I’m not playing anytime soon 😦 Instead, I’m cuddling up with my Kindle and reading The Help. Not too bad, if you ask me.

What fun foodie quests have you been on lately? Any new recipes? And have you read The Help – did you like it? Libby put me on a deadline to finish it so we can go see the movie!

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. i recently read the help and i really really loved it! i’m going to see the movie on tuesday! can’t wait! i hope you enjoy it 🙂

  2. I just downloaded The Help from Audible.com. Cannot wait to see the movie either. I have been bored with music lately so opted for some great audio books for my morning walks with the puppy. Its nice to get 2 hours of “reading” in each day.

    My new health and wellness website is going to have a recipe blog where once per week I will post gourmet recipes for 2 to 4 people that can be made for less than $20.

    Also I have given up Facebook for 30 days (at least) in exchange for finishing my business websites, getting ahead on writing, staying tuned in to my fitness goals, remodeling the house and staying focused on the upcoming holiday season for my baking company. Good thing I bookmarked your blog! 😉

    • Yay, thanks for the bookmark! I definitely want to try audio books sometime. I can’t stand listening to them in the car, and it’s mostly because I don’t like listening to someone else’s voice (I like to imagine my own character voice), so it’d be interesting to see if I like audio books while running. I know a lot of people who do it!

  3. I’m on a pie quest! Healthy right?

  4. Just for your information that you have written one of the most astonishing content. I’ve read a lot and I mean really a lot. Yet right now I’m so impressed by all these. Love it. I’ll be tell my friends about it. Keep up the good work, please.

Leave a Reply

