More Personal Questions

Hi, everyone! Hope you all had a fabulous Tuesday. I know mine was busy, busy, busy! But I’d rather be busy than bored 🙂

Caitlin posted another round of personal questions on her blog last week, and I really like the series, so I’m going to continue it over here at Check My Pulse! If you’re interested in round one, you can check it out here.

Let’s get crackin’!

What are you really good at? What are you really bad at?

I’d like to think that I’m really good at:

  • writing
  • staying organized
  • taking care of people
  • multitasking
  • sweating

I’m not so good at:

  • math
  • navigation
  • delegating
  • being patient
  • calling people to check in on the phone (mostly because I hate talking on the phone for no reason)

Have you ever been in a car accident? What happened?

I have been in two car accidents, both of which were not my fault. First, I was T-boned by a drunk driver when I was 17 and on my way to work at 6:30 a.m. I was waiting for a car to pass so I could make a left-hand turn, and as I turned, the driver behind me tried to pass me on a double-solid line. I saw her car fly into the nearby field, I bashed my head against the window and saw chunks of my car fly, and then I blacked out. Luckily, both of us were okay. The sad part is the girl was under 21 and had just gotten her license back two nights ago for driving under the influence. I didn’t go into work.

Three weeks later, I was riding with my friend Brittany to softball practice when a huge truck backed out into the street (a main road, which is illegal) without looking. She flew out right as we were passing, so she hit my side of the car (go figure) and crushed it in. Fortunately, I was able to see this one coming and moved my legs over enough so they weren’t crushed by the impact. There were three of us in the car and we went flying into the ditch, but none of us were seriously hurt.

I avoided cars for a little while after that.

Why did you attend your college?

It was the one that won me over. I visited, fell in love with the whole place, and knew it was where I wanted to go. It helped that Oswego is a state school, so tuition was much more affordable. I already had some friends there and they all loved it, including the communications department. Plus it was only about 2 hours away from home, so I could always drive back on short notice if ever necessary.

Describe your morning routine today.

My alarm went off at 5:45 a.m. and I quickly threw on my workout clothes, washed my face, brushed my teeth and blended up a fruit/protein smoothie to take with me. I was out the door by 6:15 a.m. with breakfast in hand so I could hop on the subway to go to spin class. I had class from 7-7:50, showered and got ready, then got to work by 8:45.

Have you ever snooped through someone else’s things? Did you find anything interesting?

I totally check out people’s bathroom medicine cabinets. So if you invite me over, beware. I don’t know why, but for some reason it’s a compulsive need.

What do you think happens when you die?

I was raised in a Christian home and I do believe that God exists. I won’t say that I’m religious, but I definitely have faith. I believe in Heaven and Hell. I believe I’m going to Heaven when I die.

Are you superstitious?

Eh, not really. I’ll make a wish on 11:11 if I happen to catch it, but that’s about it for me.

Do people think you are younger or older than you actually are?

People always think I’m older! A bunch of us were talking about this at the office the other day, and my boss told me I have a very mature demeanor, which I’m going to assume is a compliment because she was saying it in what seemed like a positive way. She followed it up with “I never would have guessed that you’re only 21 because you don’t act like a typical 21-year-old.” Yay for professionalism!

It’s funny that this question is brought up now — I took Bikram yoga yesterday and at one point in the class the instructor asked how old I was. When I told her, she said she thought I was 16. That’s the first time that has happened to me. Ever.

How did your parent’s relationship influence you?

My parents got divorced when I was very young and it was not a happy parting. Watching all of it unfold, I’ve learned that marriage is something that should be taken very seriously and I want to know for sure that I want to spend the rest of my life with someone before I say yes to his proposal. I don’t want to get divorced because I don’t want to put myself through it and I don’t want to ever have to put my kids through it.

That said, both of my parents are happily remarried now, which has taught me that new beginnings are possible and can be amazing. You just have to wait for the right one to come along.

What were the three happiest moments in your life?

The three happiest moments in my life so far are:

  1. The day I found out I was accepted into the ASME summer internship program in NYC.
  2. The moment I finished my first half-marathon.
  3. The day my best friend got married.

Play the game with me! Answer one (or more) of the questions in the comments!

Posted on August 16, 2011, in Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. The three happiest moments of my life were:
    1. the day i got accepted to Vanderbilt
    2. this isn’t a moment, but rather this past june i spent a week in texas and it was perfection
    3. reuniting with someone who changed my life when i wasn’t sure i’d ever get to see her again

  2. Really great article with very interesting information. You might want to follow up to this topic!?! 2012

  3. Really interesting blog, keep up the good work!

  1. Pingback: I Got a Blogging Award! « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

