Amity Hall Gets A Gold Star

Note: This post was written on Friday while I was traveling on a bus. Unfortunately, the bus broke down before I could post and I lost all free wi-fi access. I finally have access to Internet again, and my new power cord has arrived, so enjoy!

***

Last night I ventured down to Union Square with good ole’ Libby to cash in on a Groupon we had purchased about a month ago. Before I get into the nitty gritty details, can I just tell you how much I love Groupon? And Living Social. And Tippr. And any other discount site that gives you sweet deals on fun stuff to do in your city. My poor little bank account greatly appreciates these websites, as does my social life.

But back to the topic at hand…

Libby and I met up in our favorite area of NYC and strolled down the streets until we reached Amity Hall, a fun-looking restaurant/bar that instantly made me feel like I was in for a good time.

Our Groupon gave us an appetizer, two burgers and two draft beers of our choice. No price limit – holla! So we perused our menus carefully before making a selection.

To start, Libby ordered a Delirium beer and I sipped on a Bluepoint Blueberry. Delicious! Mine had just the slightest hint of blueberry and it went down really smooth. Libby says she’s usually seen them with actual blueberries in the beer. I wish they had done that with mine. I think it would’ve tasted even better and given it that special touch.

Double fisting?! I promise I’m just acting as Vanna White. But Libby did let me have a sip of hers and it was quite tasty. I’ll probably order that next time. Oh, and please excuse the crappy quality of the photos in today’s post. My camera’s battery was dead so I had to rely on the powers of iPhone.

See those cool elephants on Libby’s glass? From her vast amount of knowledge, she told me that the name Delirium tremens is Latin for “trembling madness” and those who suffered from it saw pink elephants when they would hallucinate. Cool, huh? Nice little learning lesson for ya.

Anyway, it should also be known that Libby can’t have any dairy, so we immediately eliminated any of those options on our menus. We ended up selecting some good ole’ Buffalo wings as an appetizer.

We ordered them hot, but these would definitely only be categorized under “mild.” They were really tasty, but lacked the spicy kick we were both craving. Oh well.

We both ordered turkey burgers for our entrée, but these were not any ordinary burgers. No siree. They were turkey burgers with apples, walnuts and mango chutney.

Holy goodness. These had just the right amount of sweetness and the meat was yum-tastic. Libby ordered hers with a side salad, but only because the waitress mistakenly told us that she couldn’t have fries without the Asiago cheese that came with them. I ordered mine with fries and when they came out, there was so little cheese on them that Libby ended up nabbing at least half of ‘em. Sharing is caring 😉

I didn’t nab a picture of the fries unfortunately, but they were good. They had a lot of seasoning on them, but I would definitely order them again if the salty cravings hit me.

We walked through Washington Park afterward because well, we were right there and the park is pretty. See?

I was so delirious from food-stuffing that I decided to stretch out on the fountain and listen to the tunes playing all around me.

Clearly the picture is prettier when I’m not in it.

It’s okay, I’m not afraid to admit it. You can’t distract from the natural beauty of the park!

We walked around for a good while before our sweet teeth kicked in. Yes, we both have multiples. How to remedy the situation? Libby sheepishly asked if I wanted to get 16 Handles.

My response: “Is that a serious question?!”

I was feeling fruity, so I got the strawberry flavor with blueberries, strawberries and raspberries on top. And of course I added peanut butter cups at the last minute. Because who can go to 16 Handles and not get peanut butter cups. Not I, not I.

And that was my night! Lots of good food with great company. Not to mention it was great fuel for this morning’s six-mile run. I’m working from home today, so I squeezed my long run in now because I’m traveling this weekend. But yeah, the run went swimmingly (runningly? Is that more appropriate?). My legs felt fresh and I set out to maintain an average 9:30 pace, and when I clocked the last mile, I saw my average pace was 9:32. Mission accomplished!

My mile times fluctuated a little bit more than I would have liked, and it’s really clear where I was running uphill and downhill, but hey, a girl’s gotta start somewhere!

Here’s how the mileage broke down:

Mile 1 – 9:25

Mile 2 – 9:15

Mile 3 – 9:50 (7/10’s of this mile was uphill!)

Mile 4 – 8:50 (what goes up, must come down)

Mile 5 – 9:29

Mile 6 – 10:00 (One more big hill)

Overall, I’m very pleased with this run. Running success!

Now I’m off to get some more work done before heading out for the weekend! Catch up with y’all later!

What discount sites do you love? Any fun plans this weekend? 

Posted on August 21, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This made me laugh for a long time.

  2. Oh my goodness! an incredible article dude. Thank you Nevertheless I’m experiencing concern with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting identical rss drawback? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

Leave a Reply

