Hilly Miles Are My Friend

I tackled three very, very hilly miles on Saturday, after running six miles on Friday, as part of a recovery run. Smart, right? I thought so.

I knew I wanted to get the miles in while I was away for the weekend and well, I was in the country, which means there was no escape from the miles. Where I was specifically located, there were a lot of rolling hills that looked like this:

Fun! The run was tough, but my legs felt surprisingly strong. I was eager to tackle the hills and although the sun was beating down on me pretty heavily, I pushed hard to overcome those mini mountains.

And then I realized something.

I actually like hills.

….

Say what?!

I know it’s crazy, but it’s true. I like running hills. Yes, I want to scream half of the time, but I get a surge whenever I’m running them and I get a little giddy when I see a hill workout on my training plan. My favorite part of spin class is when the instructor tells me to crank up the resistance, close my eyes and push. For some reason, I love the slow, intense movement and I thrive on the burn in my legs. I don’t know what’s wrong with me.

So I pushed myself as hard as possible on Saturday and conquered three miles of constant hills. I finished in 29:15 and was proud of that time. I walked once or twice, but never for very long and very rarely on the uphill.

That’s another quirk about me: I’ve discovered that for me to get through hills, I just need to power through them. I used to mentally quit and walk halfway up, which would annoy me because then it would take even longer to get to the top. Now when I see one coming, I brace myself and run faster. I tell myself, “the faster you run, the quicker it’s done.” When I get to the top, I revel in victory and treat my legs to a nice shakeout on the downhill.

When times get really tough, I remind myself of the benefits I’m getting from a hill workout. My legs are becoming stronger and more prepared for those 26.2 hilly miles I intend to conquer in Nashville in April. Even though it’s a long way off, every little bit helps. When that doesn’t work, I take a second to forget about what I’m doing and just look at what’s surrounding me.

Not a bad view, right?

This is why I love my country roots. You just can’t get this in the city.

In other news…

I finished reading The Help this weekend, and even though I’m probably the last one on the planet to read it, I’m recommending it just in case someone hasn’t. If you’re one of those who hasn’t, go pick it up now! It’s so, so good. I haven’t read a book this good in a while. I got sucked in every time and was constantly irritated when I’d have to put it down. And I was very happy with the ending. Usually I feel like something is left unfinished when I end a book, but this one left me feeling satisfied. All the signs of a good book!

Source

I’m going to see the movie this weekend with Libby and will have a review later! My girl-crush Emma Stone is in a starring role, so my hopes are high!

Do you like or loathe hill workouts? Have you seen and/or read The Help? Let me know what you think of each! 

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I actually really like hills, too. I like the challenge. And I love the feeling I get when I reach the top.

Leave a Reply

