Natural Disasters Galore!

Hey everyone! So things have been crazy here in NYC this week! First we had an earthquake in the middle of the day, making my entire building feel like we were bouncing up and down on a trampoline (my office is on the 25th floor), and now everyone is running around like wild banshees preparing for Hurricane Irene!

At first, I didn’t really give two hoots about the storm because well, it’s NYC and hurricanes never hit here. Seriously. In the past 100 years, only six have unleashed their wrath on the Big Apple, and that includes Irene.

I stocked up on necessities.

But then I started to get phone call after phone call. After phone call. After phone call. They just kept coming. From family members, friends and Dustin. So many people were worried about me (feelin some serious love, thanks guys!) and telling me to get the heck out of town. Nearly everyone offered me a place to stay. Some even offered to come pick me up, while others said they’d pay for my travel expenses.

So I listened. Not only to give everyone piece of mind, but to make sure I’m not a sitting duck. I still don’t think my apartment will be affected drastically, but we’ve taken the necessary precautions just in case. But it’s very likely that power will go out and no public transportation will be running. I don’t know about you, but I think that has the potential to turn really boring, really fast.

So I made some calls, priced my options, and hightailed it out of there. My roommate, Libby, and I are currently on the Megabus on our way to Philadelphia to stay with my big brother for a few days. Yes, they’re supposed to get hit too, but not nearly as bad as NYC. Plus I was due for a visit to my broha anyway.

I have family in various areas across the U.S., including New Hampshire, Tennessee, West Virginia and Oklahoma, but the costs were just too high to go to an area with nice weather. Hangin out with my bro suits me just fine 🙂

You know what else suits me just fine? The fact that my new iPod came in the mail yesterday. I ordered a shuffle on Amazon because I needed a new one for running, and it came just in time for my impromptu adventure.

Please don't stop the music.

Isn’t it cute? I think it is.

So that’s all I’ve got for you. I’m hoping the weather is nice enough one day for me to go for a run around Philly, but we’ll see what happens. I’ll be sure to post when I can, but if you’re looking for more immediate feedback, make sure to follow me on Twitter!

Everyone have a safe weekend!

Is the hurricane hitting your area? If so, how are you preparing?

Posted on August 26, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Yo, that’s what’s up truhtfully.

Leave a Reply

