Surviving Hurricanes

Nothing like a hurricane to give you the little push you needed to go visit your brother in Philly, right?

Oh, and in case any of you were wondering: it’s not always sunny in Philadelphia. Lies.

See? No sun in that picture. Or this one.

But let’s rewind a bit.

So Libby and I scooted out of work a little early so we could quickly pack our bags and catch a Megabus out to Philly on Friday. It was a really long wait.

A really, really long wait.

We got hungry.

But we had fuel on hand. Gummy worms are awesome.

After a 2.5 hour wait, we snuck on an earlier bus and rode the quick two hours over to Philly. The one good thing about Megabus? The ridiculously cheap prices. Only cost $12 on the way over and it’ll cost $8 on the way back. Doesn’t get much better than that.

It was a quiet night once we arrived, and then we hit the streets the next morning before nasty weather hit. First up, the Italian Market.

Then we made sure to hit up Reading Terminal Market for lunch. My brother told me I had to get pulled pork from DiNic’s, and I remembered it being featured in Man vs. Food, so why not?!

It was greasy and delicious. So, so good. But so big, I couldn’t finish it all. My brother polished off my sandwich for me.

And then while Irene partied outside, we had some fun of our own to celebrate a roommate’s birthday.

White trash theme, anyone? Nice photobomb, broha.

We were lucky that the power stayed on the entire time and everyone just had a good time. The pictures at the beginning of this post show the worst of the damage here in Philly. Main Street was flooded for a while, but it’s already receded and walkable once again. I’ve received word that my apartment back in New York is in tip-top shape. Buses aren’t running into New York until tomorrow though, so I’m camping out on an air mattress for one more night before I head home. I can’t wait to see my bed!

How were you affected by Irene? Hope everyone is safe and sound! 

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Food, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Looks like you guys had more damage in Philly than we did here! The apartment is awful lonely without you all. Hurry back!

Leave a Reply

