I Love (Meat) Balls

I like balls.

….

Meatballs! Come on guys, stop being dirty.

Libby and I made the most delicious sun dried tomato basil meatballs for dinner tonight, courtesy of a recipe from Janetha over at Meals and Moves. Holy yum is all I can say. We followed the recipe exactly, except for three tiny substitutions. We used extra lean ground turkey, instead of plain ole’ lean, and we  didn’t use parmesan cheese because Libby can’t have dairy and there wasn’t a dairy-free option at the grocery store tonight (lame). And then we forgot to pick up chicken broth to keep the balls moist while they were in the oven, so we just used water. They. Were. So. Good.

I don’t want to repeat the entire recipe since it’s posted on Janetha’s blog, but I will share the photos I took from our little adventure. As you know, I hate cooking, so Libby was quite impressed with my burst of productivity when I kept pushin’ her to move along so we could cook up a storm. While the recipe isn’t difficult in the slightest, I’m still proud of myself for this little creation. I will definitely be making these again.

Oh, and just so you know, I totally blasted Glee from my iTunes the entire time and sung my little lungs out. That makes the cooking experience 10 times  better. In case you were wondering.

Let the journey begin…

"Our food processor is too small!"

Processed ingredients.

"I got it to work. Yay!"

Squish, squish, mix, mix.

I like to get my hands dirty.

All rolled up.

Sizzleeee

Pop 'em in the oven.

Dinner is served!

As you can see, I piled the balls on top of some pasta. Gluten-free pasta, to be exact. Libby monitors her gluten intake and it’s all we had in the house, so it works. I piled the side of my plate with peas. Yum.

I have plenty of leftovers for tomorrow’s lunch, too! I can’t wait for my co-worker’s to smell this deliciousness (muahaha!)

Do you have a favorite meatball recipe I should try? Or any favorite recipe I should try (simple increases your odds of me actually cooking it). 

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What kind of GF pasta does Libby like? I was a die hard Tinkyada fan (very good) until I tried Schar, theirs is way better for certain kinds of pasta dishes. P.S. I love meatballs.

    • For spaghetti, she says she likes any kind of corn spaghetti: she really likes Mrs. Leeper’s. And for pasta, she likes Tinkyada, which is what we used!

      • I never got to crazy about corn pasta. You have to enjoy the more al dente texture of it. Potato pasta is sooo mushy but you do not see much of that these days. Tell her that any Kinnickinnick brand cookie is AMAZING. They have the only edible grahmn crackers for s’mores. 😀

  2. Yay! BALLS! Try them in scrambled eggs. SO damn good.

  3. You have really interesting blog, keep up posting such informative posts!

  1. Pingback: August in Review « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

