The Next Step

Sometimes two people meet each other and they think the other one’s special.

Really special.

So special, that they’re a little weird.

But then they realize that person’s weirdness is similar to their own.

And they start to like that person.

A lot.

They start dating.

And experience a lot of ups and downs, getting to know each other’s likes and dislikes.

They fall in love.

And experience big moments together.

After more than two and a half years, they find themselves ready for change. Ready to move into the adult world…together.

This weekend, Dustin moved in.

To my apartment.

So now it’s our apartment.

We live in the same city, under the same roof, but doing our own thing.

And I couldn’t be happier. Sure, there will be some trying times. Adjustments need to be made and it’ll take time for both of us to get used to our new environment. But I kinda sorta really love this guy, and I’m willing to test the waters as long as he’s nearby.

 ❤

Have you ever moved in with a significant other? Any words of advice? 

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Sam,
    As you know I have been living with Mark since January even though hes deployed I have figured this one thing out choose your battles wisely. When I first moved in he had done some things that bothered me but now I miss all those things when he is away. You will find the right balance and will be increadable happy. I miss ya girl. LOVE YOU xoxo

  2. Congrats Sam! I’m not going to lie, as I read this I was secretly hoping you were engaged. 😀

    Anyways, I have been living with Tino since November, but our life together really stemmed back way before that. What I have learned is that:

    * Always compromise. You’re life is not about you or him, its about both of you.
    * Read Dr. Gary Chapman’s “The Five Love Languages” – together. It will change your relationship for the better.
    * Try not to dwell in the little things that urk you, you have faults too.
    * Love with everything you have and never go to bed angry. Tino and I do not fight often, but when we do, we make up quickly. Neither of us likes to be angry with the other.
    * Never lose yourself and your goals in another person, find the balance.
    * Make time for each other every day to talk and enjoy the company. It gets harder when you are in the working world and have your own life, but its a must.

    P.S. While I was reading and responding, I forgot that I actually came to my computer to sign up for Hulu Plus again. We were going to get cable, but decided not to and to go back with Hulu instead. lol.

  3. Awesome blog, it’s just like a game for me! It’s so infomative and usefull, thanks a lot! If you post more of this great stuff, I’ll visit your blog again!

  4. This is one of the best weblogs i have ever seen and read. Thanks for sharing this usefull information. I will come back in a few days to see you have post some new articles.

  1. Pingback: Making Goals: September « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Three Years Ago « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Moments of Impact « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

