Workout Windup: Half-Marathon Training Week 1

Welcome to a new series on the blog! I decided this was the best way to track my training, and this way you can all follow along (if you wish). Plus I know it’ll help me stick to my September goals if  I know I’m being held accountable to you guys on a weekly basis.

I plan on normally posting this series every Sunday evening, but decided to wait until today for the initial post because I stepped away from my computer this weekend. This is my first time being in NYC on the anniversary of September 11, and I think being here for the 10th anniversary was monumental. I didn’t want my focus to be ripped away by technology; I just wanted to absorb. It was extremely moving and I’ve never felt more happy about where I am. The American pride oozing from every street corner was just inspiring and incredibly humbling. I’m so glad to be here.

…Getting back on track, let’s see how my workouts went this week! My goals were:

  • 1 strength workout
  • 1 yoga class
  • 1 spin class
  • Run 20 miles
  • 7 planks

This is how I did:

Monday: Run 4 miles

Tuesday: Run 3 miles

Wednesday: Off

Thursday: Spin

Normally I love spin, but this week I was not having any of it. I blame part of it on the fact that I was under a lot of stress and couldn’t get my mind off of it, and the other part on the new instructor I tried out. I was not a fan.

Recycled photo

Friday: Hot Power Yoga

This class was awesome! My favorite style of yoga thus far. I love the flexibility to work at your own pace and level, and I like that it’s still hot for me to get a heavy dose of sweat on. I will be returning!

Saturday: 6 mile run + strength workout

My legs felt heavy at first, but quickly fell into a groove and I finished strong! Love that I had enough energy afterward to dive straight into an upper body and core workout.

Recycled photo

Sunday: Off

Totals: 

Miles run (this week): 13

Miles run (total): 13

Strength sessions: 1

Yoga sessions: 1

Spin sessions: 1

Planks: 3

So I was semi-successful this week. I crapped out of my 4-mile run and 3-mile run on Wednesday and Sunday, but I’m not beating myself up about it. My plan allows for some flexibility, but I’m definitely going to try to stick to it more from here on out.

I’m really happy I fit in my strength, yoga and spin sessions too! Crafting my schedule to different studios and lifting after a long run has been trying, but definitely manageable.

In other news, I need your help! I was originally going to title this post “Workout Windup: New Orleans Training Week 1,” but my race got cancelled! I found out Friday afternoon that my birthday race was postponed until 2012 “due to logistical obstacles.” Seriously depressing. I was really looking forward to running in New Orleans for my 22nd birthday — I have to make it better than my 21st! So here’s where you come in: please, please, please tell me of all half-marathon races that you know of in October and November. My race was originally November 20, but I’m willing to look at races outside that weekend right now. And if you’ve run them already, tell me how you liked it!

I’ll leave with you a heartwarming quote I saw when I opened up a piece of Dove chocolate that I nibbled on last night.

It’s so true. Just ask my friend Andrew, who’s formed a great relationship with my giant stuffed bear, who he’s named Jeffrey.

You can’t mess with a love like that 😉

Have you signed up for any fall races? If so, how’s your training going? 

Posted on September 12, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Good Job Sam! I am a HUGE fan of Hot Power Yoga over Bikram. As you said, I like the flexibility, go at your own pace, modifications for moves you can’t quite get, ect. I’m a huge fan. If you plan to stick with Hot Yoga, I definitely recommend the NamaSTAY towel. It has flaps that go over the edge of the mat to help it stay in place. I’m absolutely in love with it. 🙂

  2. I believe there’s a half in Falmouth, MA the weekend of Halloween!

  1. Pingback: Long Run Fun « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

