FITNESS Mind, Body, Spirit Games Race Recap

What better way is there to kick off a Saturday than with a race in Central Park?

How about hanging out with my co-workers at FITNESS, my Biggest Loser ladies, Hannah and Olivia (and her husband Ben!), and finally meeting my man, Bob Harper!

I’d say that’s a pretty awesome morning. We even snagged a shot of Bob laughing because some lady decided to cut right in front of us as a bunch of press people were taking our photo.

Isn’t he a cutie?! I sure think so. He’s even cuter in person than he is on the show.

So I hung out with them all morning, right up until 9:50 when my race was about to start! Then me and the fashion girls Marla and Argy scooted off to our corral, and editor Bethany met up with us too! After a few words from our fabulous editor-in-chief Betty Wong, we were off and running!

And run I did. I was determined to set a PR — well, it was impossible not to because I haven’t officially signed up for a 4-mile race before, just ran in them at school without signing up…shhh. But that’s beside the point. The point is that I ran my little heart out while professing my love for Ali and sweat.

© Erica Sara Designs

Why this picture is now on the Internet at least twice, I don’t know. I should have smiled. But I guess this is my game face. Blech.

The first two miles flew by and I was clocking good speed (for me) on the trusty Garmin. The rolling hills came on mile three, but some good tunes and awesome spectators kept me groovin’ along. I had three people yell to me, “Nice shirt, we love Ali!” during mile three. Guess I’m not the only fan 😉

I kept my pace consistently between 8:45- and 9-minute miles, only dropping down to 9:15 once or twice on a hill. I’m proud of that because I usually maintain around 9:30. There’s just something about races that really keeps the legs pumping. The race was 4.1 miles long and I officially crossed the finish line at 36:41! Here are my splits according to Garmin:

  • Mile 1 –> 9:07
  • Mile 2 –> 8:58
  • Mile 3 –> 9:06
  • Mile 4 –> 8:55
  • Mile 5 (.1) –> :42

Dustin met me after the race and we hung out with the gang some more, then headed down to Union Square to run a few errands. We picked up some goodies at the farmer’s market and I loved seeing all the fall stuff out for sale! Return of the pumpkins…

Libby is convinced she’s going to force me to like them. Stay tuned on that one.

Then I was starving, so Dustin and I found a new-to-us pub to grab some sandwiches. Once we were seated at Heartland Brewery, I knew exactly what I wanted.


The Cajun Crab Cake Sandwich was dee-li-cious ! Especially the sweet potato fries. Dustin doesn’t like them, so I don’t have them very often. Man, they were good. Dustin really liked the decor, and he had a perfect view of the Yankees game. That makes him a happy camper.

After a shower and cat nap, I’m ready to cook some more grub. Dustin’s currently at the grocery store getting stuff for us to cook meatloaf, and then we’ll settle in to watch the Syracuse football game. Go Orange!

Did anyone else run the MBS race this morning? Send me links to your recaps! And what celebrity have you always wanted to meet? Seriously, Bob was at the top of my list!

Posted on September 17, 2011, in Exercise, Food, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Love your life! 😀

  2. SO very cool that you got to meet Bob! He is a doll!! I wouldn’t mind meeting him myself!
    Great job on the run:-)

  3. I’m so jealous that you’ve met my BIGGEST INSPIRATIONS! 🙂

  1. Pingback: Workout Windup: Half-Marathon Training Week 2 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

