Workout Windup: Half-Marathon Training Week 3

Three weeks of training in the bag! This week was a little difficult because I ended up being sick for most of the week, and ended up having to forgo all types of exercise on Thursday and Friday. Nonetheless, I still managed to get in a decent amount of mileage! Let’s see how it played out, shall we?

Goals:

  • 1 strength workout
  • 1 yoga class
  • 1 spin class
  • Run 21 miles
  • 7 planks

How I fared:

Monday: Run 4 miles

Tuesday: Run 2 miles + strength workout

I tested out a new barre class that just hit New York Sports Clubs, and it was a ton of fun! My legs were quivering from the wide variety of exercises, and I got a decent amount of cardio in the hour-long workout as well. Success all the way around!

Wednesday: Run 3 miles

I was supposed to run 5 miles this day, but was starting to feel icky. Plus I was running late, so I caved. I was hoping to make up the extra mileage at night, but I ended up feeling awful by the end of the day.

Thursday: Off

Friday: Off

Saturday: Fifth Avenue Mile + 7-Mile Long Run

Photo via New York Road Runners

I had a blast running the Fifth Avenue Mile with my co-workers, and had a semi-successful long run afterward. Being bit by a dog is always fun…just kidding.

Sunday: Off

Totals:

Miles run (this week): 17

Miles run (total): 46

Strength workouts: 1

Spin sessions: 0

Yoga classes: 0

Planks: Whatever I did in the barre class.

Thoughts:

I’d still say this week was successful because I got a lot of exercise in despite being sick. And I was able to fit in my long run, which is really important. I’m going to be extra careful not to miss any workouts this week — I already did five miles today!

How did your workouts go for the week? Any fun stuff planned this week?

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Exercise, Goals, Racing, Uncategorized, Workout Windup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You must try Piloxing! It’s a type of barre workout. You will love it I’m sure.

  2. That is such a cute chart of your runs! How did you do that!? And when is your race? I’m doing a half on October 16th! Hope your training continues to go well!

Leave a Reply

