Colbie Caillat Rocks My Socks

Seriously. As I listened to her from three rows away from the stage, Colbie Caillat’s beautiful voice rocked my socks in my little black booties last night. I was in heaven.

I’ve been a fan of Colbie ever since she started putting music on Myspace when I was in middle school. When “Bubbly” hit the radio, I was all over it. I downloaded all of her albums soon after they were released and often used her lyrics as away messages whenever I was logged onto AIM. Does anyone even use AIM anymore?

Back when I was a sophomore in college, I worked at the school newspaper as the sports editor. I was close friends with our entertainment editor, who casually mentioned that Jason Reeves was going to be playing a concert at Syracuse University in a few weeks and she was thinking about covering it. She kept going back and forth because she wasn’t really into that kind of music. Guess who immediately volunteered?

This girl 🙂

If you know Colbie Caillat’s history at all (which I realize you may not), Jason Reeves is a big part of it. Before either of their careers were big, Jason moved from Iowa to California and lived with Colbie for a while. As far as they’ll say, no funny business went on, but they did write some great music together. So once this opportunity arose to interview Jason and attend the concert, I pounced all over it.

Please don’t laugh at the nerdiness of that photo. I remember that day like it was yesterday. I had been listening to Jason’s music on repeat all day, whether I was in my room or in class. I didn’t have very much time to get ready beforehand, hence the slightly disheveled look, but I like to think that I made up for my lack of good looks with excitement and knowledge of the material.

That’s what I tell myself anyway.

The concert back then was phenomenal, and Jason was kind enough to sign a photo that I still have hanging in my room today.

Now that you have some back story, let’s go back to last night. As you all know, I work at FITNESS as a freelance editorial assistant. Well, Colbie was our May cover girl and her tour manager kindly offered anyone on staff two tickets to the show, along with backstage passes for a meet and greet beforehand. Score!

I snatched those up faster than you can say banana pancakes. I was so excited to finally see Colbie in person. Who was I going to bring? A light quickly dawned on me when I remembered that Libby is a big fan too 🙂

There were some mishaps with the meet and greet passes that I won’t get into, but it all ended up working out and we met Colbie about a half hour before she hit the stage. She was super-charming and very, very beautiful. Throughout the whole show I kept thinking, “Man, her legs are awesome!” You can tell she works out, and I like it!

The energy at last night’s show was great and I loved the ambiance. Her crew made the stage look more like a comfy coffee house, which was a nice touch and very fitting. I wish I could have snagged pictures, but the lighting was awful for photos most of the time. Plus I decided that I didn’t want to live behind my camera. I just wanted to enjoy the show!

She played all of my favorites, including “Fallin’ For You,” “I Do,” “I Never Told You,” and “The Little Things.” She even played my throwback, “Realize” with that special man from sophomore year.

Jason came out to play two songs with Colbie, which just took the show to a whole other level.

All in all, it was a great show. And it was over before 11p.m., which was perfect because the concert was on a Monday. A winning night, if you ask me!

Do you like Colbie Caillat? What’s the best concert you’ve ever been to? 

P.S. Brooklyn Fit Chick featured me on her blog today! Head on over to check it out!

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

