Long Run Fun

Well, yesterday’s long run definitely made up for last Saturday’s. I didn’t get bit by a dog, so that automatically made it ten times better. But I have to admit, I was skittish every time a little mutt came near me. Yet another reason why I’m not a huge fan of small dogs (except for Penny, Nina! I love her).

Anyway, I kicked off yesterday’s 9-miler in Central Park, covering three miles with Under Armour for their Power in Pink: On the Run in NYC event. A bunch of us headed out in a pack, but quickly separated as there was a good mix of people at different fitness levels. Libby joined me on the run, so I stuck with her and we stayed between a 10- and 10:30/mile pace. My legs felt fantastic the entire time and I was more than excited for the next six miles I had to cover.

Under Armour gave us these fancy headbands for participating. I think its cute, but not something I would wear on a regular basis. It stayed put more than other headbands I’ve tried, but the material wasn’t lightweight and I found myself adjusting it more than I’d like. But hey, I’m not one to turn down a free headband for participating in a good cause.

The next six miles went by fast. I focused on my breathing and made sure that my form was right (trying to stop all the heel-striking I do), which made me forget about the time. I took a shot block at mile six and it kept my energy up the entire time. I even made negative splits on the last three miles! Check it out:

  • Mile 1 – 10:09
  • Mile 2 – 10:14
  • Mile 3 – 10:18
  • Mile 4 – 9:20
  • Mile 5 – 9:41
  • Mile 6 – 9:58
  • Mile 7 – 9:51 (negative split!)
  • Mile 8 – 9:44 (negative split again!)
  • Mile 9 – 9:26 (negative split one more time!)

I came home hungry as a beast, so I quickly refueled with a giant cinnamon raisin bagel with triple berry cream cheese from Brooklyn Bagel & Coffee Company. But I wasn’t in Brooklyn — the shop is in Queens. This makes no sense to me, but it was delicious.

Dustin caught me spreading the love.

What can I say? It was that good. I contemplated a second one, but decided that might be a little much. Le sigh.

To make up for my behavior, I ventured out with Dustin in search of a puzzle. Don’t ask me why, but Dustin loves these things and he’s been dying to buy one for the last week. We ended up going all the way to Barnes and Noble in Union Square, where he picked out one of the city skyline. At least he was smart enough not to pick the one of Yankee stadium. Yuck.

He refused to stay still so I could get a non-blurry shot. “I have to do this puzzle right now!” Yes, sir.

In non-puzzle news, I headed out for five recovery miles today thinking my legs would feel heavy and be a little sore. I credit all the stretching and light walking I did yesterday after my long run because I felt great! I’m really happy with my times and couldn’t have asked for better weather. I finished in 46:41, with splits that looked like this:

  • Mile 1 – 9:22
  • Mile 2 – 9:30
  • Mile 3 – 9:25
  • Mile 4 – 9:26
  • Mile 5 – 9:01 (what?!)

I’m really glad I was able to keep my times consistent, especially because I usually shoot out way too fast and don’t save my legs for later. Apparently I had something left in the tank this time around, eh? I’ll take it.

And now, I have an announcement! A few weeks ago I told y’all that my birthday half-marathon in New Orleans had been postponed until 2012 (still super bummed about this) and that I was looking for a new fall race. Well, I find one! Instead of running a race in six weeks, I’m now running one in two. Yeah…on October 14, I’m headed to California!

Source

San Francisco, more specifically 🙂

I’m super pumped to be participating in the Nike Women’s (Half) Marathon, despite my training plan being  cut drastically. Luckily, I had been pre-training beforehand and I’m confident I can still cross the finish line strong. I’ve heard a lot of great things about this race, and well, I get a Tiffany’s necklace at the end. Which is handed to me by a fireman dressed up in a tuxedo. What’s not to love?!

I’m off to stretch some more. I need to go buy a foam roller, for real.

How was your weekend? Congrats to everyone who rocked a race!

Posted on October 2, 2011, in Athletic Apparel, Cancer Awareness, Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

