Speed Work

Today I mixed up my workout, nixing my morning run in favor of some sleep. It was glorious. But I did it because I knew I was going to be able to make it up later. Lucky for me, I knew some of my co-workers and I were heading over to Lululemon right after work to join the community run club they have every Wednesday night.

Source

I wasn’t sure how I would feel about running with a group, as I usually like to stick to myself so I don’t feel pressured to run too fast (and be embarrassed when I can’t keep up). But today was great! We did Yasso 800s, which I had never done before, although I had read all about them. They’re supposed to be great training workouts to help you predict your marathon goal time. I did the math and it was right on track for my half-marathon goal time, so I imagine it would work for the marathon.

But let’s press rewind. My co-workers, Bethany and Collen, and I headed up to East 66th street to meet up with the other runners and our Lulu ambassador, Abigail. She’s so cute and awesome, and I’m in love with her. She was a great motivator and you could tell she was very knowledgeable and doled out all sorts of info to help runners of all levels feel at ease with the workouts.

We warmed up for about 3/4 of a mile, had a light stretch and dove right into the workout. Abby told us we were doing four 800s (so four laps of a half-mile each), with a light rest in between each one. Consistency was the name of the game, as we wanted to try to either beat our speed each time, or maintain the times we achieved on the first and second laps. Sounds easy enough, right?

While the explanation was quite simple, the execution was tough. I got my sweat on! I really pushed it hard and I’m really glad Bethany and Colleen joined me. Colleen was a speed demon that I just couldn’t keep up with, but she was really encouraging. And Bethany runs regularly with a running club near her apartment, so it was great to pace myself against her. I fell behind her on the final lap, but stuck with her stride for stride for the first three. I was happy with that.

So how did I do? My splits ended up looking like this

  • First 800 –> 4:02
  • Second 800 –> 3:53
  • Third 800 –> 3:50
  • Fourth 800 –> 4:00

After we had a nice, slow jog back to the store. We ended up covering just under 5 miles total. Here comes the proud watch shot:

But that doesn’t include any of the warm-up as my lovely Garmin had trouble finding signal until we stopped and stretched. Ah well.

Overall, I don’t think I did too shabby for my first speed session! Obviously, I was tired at the end, but I still pushed as hard as I could and definitely used the second half of each lap to push harder so I wouldn’t slow down. I’m definitely going to try to make speed work a more regular thing in my workout routine. I knew before that I needed to, I just needed that extra nudge to get it done.

Then I had fun trying on lots of Lululemon clothes, not-so-secretly lusting after basically everything I tried on. And I ran into running/blogging/real life friends Jess and Ali, which was a great surprise. Love random meet-ups 🙂

What do you think of speed workouts? Do you do them often? Have you seen them improve your long-distance time?

Posted on October 5, 2011, in Exercise, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You had an amazing workout! Abby is awesome.

    Looking forward to seeing again next week!

  1. Pingback: Workout Windup: Half-Marathon Training Week 5 « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

