Nike Women’s Half-Marathon Recap, Part I

First things first, drum roll please! The winner of the Ghirardelli chocolate giveaway is…

Congratulations, Krisi! Just send me an email with your address so we can get your goodies in the mail 🙂

Moving right along, this weekend was such a fun-filled, extremely busy weekend that I’m going to break it up into sections. So let’s travel back in time to Friday, shall we? I woke up bright and early with my bag already packed and ready to go, then carried it up to work. Let me tell you, taking a packed suitcase through the metro system is not fun at all. Especially in rush hour when everyone’s trying to get to work. Some people are just plain grumpy. No bueno.

But I got to work, knocked stuff off of my to-do list left and right, then boarded my direct flight from JFK. I made sure to have the essentials ready to go:

A book, magazine and Ghirardelli chocolate. Yum. Unfortunately, we ended up on the plane for an hour before we actually took off, so I finished my book, half of my magazine and a quarter of my chocolate (it wasn’t full when I got on the plane) before we even got in the air. Good thing I had backup material.

My iPod ended up being great entertainment and I read through the latest issue of FITNESS, Self and Runner’s World by the time we touched down in San Francisco. Phew. I tried my hardest to stay awake the whole flight so that I would sleep well and suffer less jet lag. Mission accomplished. I got to our hotel, ate some food and promptly passed out in my comfy bed.

The next morning I woke up to this beautiful sight:

You just don’t get that in New York! Maybe it’s childish, but I always get giddy whenever I see palm trees. It just screams vacation to me.

Jenna and I spent most of the morning and early afternoon wandering around Union Square, either exploring the area or working. We bought some goodies at Niketown and headed over to the expo.

There was a lot of cool stuff going on throughout the expo, including Run the Runway and Neutrogena makeup consultations. It was very clear that this race was for women. After picking up some stuff, Jenna and I discovered the best thing going on in the whole tent.

Spin for a smoothie! Hop on the bike, spin away and you power the blender to create your own smoothie. Yum!

At least I can say I’ve technically spun in jeans and boots now. But I think I’ll stick to workout clothes. Heh.

Some more fun at the expo…

Jenna and I walked around the city some more and ended up spotting a bright patch of grass in the distance. Like a moth to a flame, Jenna and I rushed over to see what it was. We rarely get to see nature  living in the city, so we were hoping to find something good.

We ended up finding Yerba Buena Gardens!

It was so pretty! Everyone was just lounging around, enjoying the gorgeous sunshine. It reminded me of our parks back home, but a bit on the smaller side. Small is never a bad thing!

There was a waterfall that ended up being the perfect spot for us to relax and have some cool water sprinkle us.

Finally, we went back to the expo because we had some work to do. And by work, I mean interview running phenoms Kara Goucher and Joan Benoit Samuelson! They were both super cool and very down-to-earth. I loved getting to know them a little bit more and hanging out for a few minutes.

The rest of the night entailed a pre-race dinner filled with typical carbo-loading and then an early night. Until next time…

Posted on October 17, 2011, in Exercise, Racing, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Fun, fun, fun! And meeting some great running legends….AWESOME!! Can’t wait to hear about the race:-)

  2. So fun! How great is that you got to interview Joan and Kara?!

    I too am ready to hear about the actual race!

  1. Pingback: Feel-Good Friday: Because I Need It This Week « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: Nike Women’s Half-Marathon Recap, Part II « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

