Feel-Good Friday: Because I Need It This Week

I know you all are patiently waiting for Part II of my Nike Women’s Half-Marathon race report, and I promise it’s coming. Just not today. It’s been an extremely difficult week for me, emotionally and mentally, which is why I haven’t blogged since Monday. So instead of my race report, I’ve decided to continue the weekly tradition of Feel-Good Friday. Because after the week I’ve had, I don’t want to dwell on the bad. It’s much better to focus on the good.

So here’s what’s been getting me through this week:

My new mug shot. I’ve been meaning to bring in a coffee mug for work for the past few week so that I would stop using the paper cups our office provides (go green!), but just kept forgetting to snag one from my cupboards at home. When I snagged this big boy from a Starbucks in San Fran, I knew it would be my new office mug. I’ve already enjoyed a few warm cups of tea and hot cocoa (I don’t drink coffee) and am sure to enjoy plenty more. Plus it’s red, which automatically makes it way cooler.

My new water bottle. I know, I know, I’ve been putting a lot of “new” stuff on here that have been making me feel good. I swear I’m not materialistic. There are just some little things (like water bottles) that make me feel good. This one in particular is not so little, in fact it’s huge. And when I fill it up in the morning and chug it down by the end of the work day, I feel accomplished for drinking that much water.

Flowers from Dustin. Or Dustin in general. Dustin has been my rock, helping me sift through the emotions that I’ve had thrown at me this week. I really am so grateful for him every day, but this week he just stepped it up. He never pushed me to do anything I didn’t want to do and he came home with my favorites on Wednesday: yellow roses, a Reese’s cup, a Starbucks gift card, and lots of room for hugs. He’s a keeper.


Oswego and their reunions. Dustin and I met at Oswego, so that automatically makes Oswego awesome, but last night our alumni association had a NYC Welcome to the City party and we got to meet a bunch of people from varying graduating classes, from the ’70s all the way up to today. We met at Houndstooth Pub in Manhattan, got appetizers and drinks, and enjoyed everyone’s company. I got to see a lot of friendly faces (Hey Liza and Liv!), people I worked with at school that I haven’t seen in a long time, which made the night even more fantastic.

(Sorry for the grainy iPhone photo!)

And Dustin striking his signature pose.

So that about sums it up for me! I would say to expect the race report tomorrow, but that would be a lie. Dustin and I are escaping the city for the weekend to visit his family, and I’m avoiding technology at all costs. My brain is in dire need of an unplug from technology. So I won’t be tweeting, texting, blogging or anything. But I’ll be back Monday, happy race report in hand!

What’s made you feel good this week? Tell me at least one thing!

Posted on October 21, 2011, in Mental Health, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. In honor of things that are new… yesterday I snagged an adorable Pink multi colored striped golf umbrella at Walmart for $5. It was waiting for me when I walked in the door to snag some batteries for the evil puppies bark collar. This is a big deal because it never stops raining in Binghamton and a regular umbrella just doesn’t cover your whole body so you don’t get wet unless you are like… 10 years old. So now I can stay nice and dry with my super cool umbrella. And staying dry in the cold weather makes everyone feel good!

    Sorry you are having a bad week, I hope the weekend turns it around. You should check out Gabrielle Bernstein today on TheDailyLove.com. She talks about just letting things go for 24 hours. She lives in NYC and I absolutely adore her make-your-life-better-through-positive-thinking attitude.

  2. That is so sweet he bought you those flowers. They are so pretty!

  3. Sorry you are having a tough week. Hopefully things turn around for you and you are able to relax and enjoy your weekend away.
    What brightened my week? Flowers from a friend and a dinner out with an old college buddy. Oh, and pumpkin ice cream:-)

  4. Hope everything’s okay!

  1. Pingback: Unplugging Rocks « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

