Unplugging Rocks

Hey everyone, happy Monday! I hope everyone had a fantastic weekend and was able to kick-start the week on a good note.

As you all know by now, I had a really bad week last week. This week, I am determined to turn it around. So when I bounced out of bed this morning, I did so with a smile on my face (this is a pretty big feat — I’m not a morning person). All day there were things that could have turned my attitude sour, but I refused to let it happen. I ended up having an extremely busy, yet extremely productive day and came home feeling accomplished. BAM!

How’s that for some inspiration for ya? 🙂

But I must admit, this good mood didn’t start with today’s actions. It started with Friday, when I decided that I was unplugging for the weekend. Dustin and I headed upstate to see his family and our friends from his hometown, and I was determined to just let go of all of the negative energy surrounding my week so I could enjoy myself.

So I left my computer at home. Turned off my cell phone. Left it off. And brought a book.

I had so much fun this weekend it’s not even funny. I got to relax, read, take naps and eat delicious homemade food. I didn’t do anything super fancy all weekend, but it was wonderful being surrounded by people who genuinely care about me. They all helped me forget about my troubles and focus on the good things in life.  And sometimes, those things don’t involve technology. Sometimes they don’t involve anything but surrounding yourself with beauty.

That’s the view from Dustin’s parent’s back porch. Isn’t it to die for?

I ❤ fall. I ❤ the countryside. I ❤ friends. I ❤ family. I ❤ Dustin.

You see why this was a good weekend?

Oh yeah, I ❤ food too.

Worth every single calorie. *Insert belly rub here.*

To sum up, this weekend was phenomenal and the mini getaway came at just the right time. If you’re ever looking for a simple way to recharge, just step away from everything that requires a charger. You don’t need to read every blog post the second it goes live, stalk all of your Twitter friends every hour, creep Facebook pictures the minute they’re posted, or text friends every detail of your life. Just try it sometime, you’ll be so grateful you did. Not to mention it’ll be refreshing when you do decide to dive back in to the social media realm.

Or maybe that’s just what simple country-turned-city girls like me need? Who knows…I just know it was awesome.

How was your weekend? 

Posted on October 24, 2011, in Mental Health, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Escaping the world for a day or two is always a good thing when you need to just recharge yourself. I’m glad it worked for you. That is a beautiful view.

  2. What a view! STUNNING!
    Glad that you got to unwind. Sometimes unplugging is the best. Hope that your week continues with good blessings.

  3. Any time you need to “unplug” let me know (hike, bike, camp, etc.). I do it all the time (insert mountain man beard here). Keeps me sane, keeps me humble, keeps me focused. My weekend was good. Slept in Saturday, went for a two hour mountain bike ride in the Wissahickon gorge with the crisp fall air and all the lovey oranges, reds, and yellows surrounding me. Went on a date night with Angie to see 50/50 (highly recommend it!). Sunday I vegged, watched football, and did a little pathology review.

Leave a Reply

