Let’s Get Personal: Round Four

I’m such a sucker for Q&A blog posts. I love reading them because it really makes me feel like I’m getting to know the person behind the blog, not just a brand. And I have a lot of fun writing them. There’s something great about drumming up the perfect answer that explains who you are to your readers, and it usually involves a jog down memory lane, which is always fun. So without further adieu, let’s get (more) personal!

What magazines do you subscribe to?

Um, a lot. I work in the magazine industry, so it’s hard not to get caught up in it all. Luckily, I’ve been able to reduce my subscriptions because I have two roommates who also work in the industry, so we all swap now. So my current subscriptions are FITNESS (obviously), Self, Women’s Health, Shape, Runner’s World and Seventeen. However, I regularly read Glamour, Marie Claire, Esquire (roomie love), Food Network Magazine(more roomie love), People, Real Simple and occasionally I’ll pick up InStyle, GQ, Prevention, Men’s Health, Cosmo or The Knot off the newsstand.

Do you have any embarrassing fitness/exercise/training stories?

Boy oh boy, do I ever. My most embarrassing fitness moment ever happened when I was in ninth grade. I remember it very clearly: softball season had just begun, and we were practicing indoors because snow still covered the ground. My coach, who was a male and the father of one of my really close friends, was putting us through a fielding drill where we sprinted down the gym then arced across, reacting as if a fly ball had been hit over our heads and we were running back to make the catch. It was my favorite drill of all time, as I loved playing in the outfield whenever my coach let me  (I moved from left field in ninth grade, to third in tenth, to first during junior year and played shortstop my senior year). I was wearing these royal blue snap-on pants, the kind you can rip off like the basketball players do. Of course, I didn’t have shorts on or anything underneath because we were indoors. In hindsight, this was very dumb.

My turn was about to start and I wanted to show off because the boy I had a crush on (the brother of a teammate) had just walked in to watch until the end of practice and take his sister home. I got all into it and sprinted full-speed down the court. As I started to transition into my arch across the gym, my glove caught on my pants. Before I knew it, my pants were around my ankles and there I was, standing in my purple undies. Thankfully, they fully covered my bottom. Unthankfully (not a word, I know), I had my monthly visitor.

I wanted to die. And I can’t believe I just told this story on the Internet.

What’s your favorite color and why?

Red, hands down. I love how bold it is and how much fun you can have with it. Whether it’s your standout piece, an accessory or you’re using it in something entirely exempt from fashion, I love the color. It’s my mom’s favorite color too, which I love 🙂

Do you prefer short, intense workouts or long, sustained ones?

It depends on my mood. If I’m upset, I love a short, intense workout. Or if I really need to sweat and sweat hard, then I’ll go with something short and intense. Usually interval runs do the trick for me, but SoulCycle sure knows how to make me sweat like a beast, too.

Do you plan your meals ahead of time or just eat what you feel like eating in that moment?

Whatever I’m feeling in the moment. I don’t like to plan my meals because then I’m usually not in the mood for them. I usually work with whatever I have in the house to whip something up (nothing fancy, mind you — I’m a big fan of grilled cheese and tomato soup). The farthest I tend to go with meal planning is in the morning I’ll map out what I’m going to eat for lunch, if there aren’t any dinner leftovers.
Your turn! Pick a question and answer in the comments. 🙂 And if you’re looking to answer another question, I still really want advice about whether or not I should get a running coach


Posted on October 27, 2011, in Exercise, Random Musings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

