Rest In Peace, Clare

It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged, and there are reasons behInd my decision to step away from my little space on the Internet. But I couldn’t stay away today. The fitness community had their world turned upside down yesterday when it was announced that Clare Veronica Walsh, a wonderful, beautiful, inspiring SoulCycle spinning instructor, had passed away.

Clare was such a great woman, always full of life and she brought such a vivid energy to everything she did. I had the honor of taking many of her classes and absolutely loved every single one. She made you work hard and praised you for your accomplishments every single step of the way. When I signed up to take a class with Clare, I often left feeling invigorated and inspired, hoping that I could one day reach the same level of awesomeness that Clare was at on a daily basis.

While I don’t know all of the details about what happened to Clare, I can say that she was young, beautiful, caring and extremely compassionate. My heart breaks whenever I think about this situation, and I can’t even imagine what her family, close friends and fellow SoulCycle instructors must be going through. My loving thoughts and prayers are with you all ❤

This is definitely a time to grieve and reflect on the wonderful life that Clare lived, and to unite with everyone that Clare impacted (I know there are many). However, I'm going to do my best to honor Clare. Her sudden and unexpected passing is a harsh reminder that life is short and it will be over before we know it. So hug the ones you love tight, and tell them how you really feel. Tell them often, every single day that you can, because you never know when you'll see them again. And live life to the fullest. Chase after your dreams and forget about everyone who tells you you can't. You'll never regret trying.

I know many people will be dedicating their workouts in the coming days to Clare, just like I will. Although tears may be shed, I'll clip into my bike with her beautiful face in my mind and pedal as hard as I can, rocking the front row as much as possible. No matter how much it may hurt, we know that's what she would want. Rest in peace, Clare. God received a beautiful angel now, and there are so many here that will never forget you.

Posted on December 26, 2011, in Exercise, Mental Health and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. She was a bright light of a person and I feel lucky to have spent a little bit of time in her presence. My deep sympathies to all who knew and loved her — and those who spent even a little time with her. She seemed to be a wonderful person.

Leave a Reply

