Embracing 2012

Happy 2012, everyone! I know I’m nine days late, but hey, it isn’t my lucky number for nothing!

I’ve never been a person who was really big on resolutions. Whenever I think of that word, the classics pop into my head. “I’m going to lose such and such amount of weight,” or “this year is going to be the year that I finally do so and so.” I just don’t function like that. A switch does not go off in my head suddenly on January 1 that ignites this revolution inside of me. Sorry to burst your bubble 😉

This is the closest relevant photo you're going to get.

So while everyone else’s resolution posts are long gone by now, I’m here to present my latest goals post. I actually think it’s good to wait a little while before posting my yearly goals. That way I have time to soak in the energy of the new year, really figure out what I want to accomplish this year, and well, see what everyone else wants to do too. I’m nosy like that.

And away we go!

Fitness

1.) Finish a marathon.

This is by far and away one of the biggest things I want to cross off of my bucket list this year. The sad part is, I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do it. I’m registered for the Country Music Marathon in April, and I’m supposed to begin training very soon, but that seems less likely the more time goes on. I’ve been struggling with hip pain since October, and finally went to the orthopedist  in December. I was diagnosed with a muscle strain in the right hip and prescribed a few weeks of physical therapy to strengthen my hip. Okie dokie, I can do that.

But then knee pain hit. It started on December 23, and it only hurts after I run. Not during, and not when I’m doing other forms of cardio (not sure about cardio though because I’ve only been to one spin class since then and it didn’t bother me). It begins once I’m done running and it’s pretty intense — think I can’t walk down stairs because I want to either punch something or fall on the ground in a heap and just cry. I know I need to go get it looked at, especially with my blood disorder. I’m on it.

Wow, way to digress Samantha, eh? Anyway, I want to run a marathon. Whether or not it actually happens: to be determined.

2.) Do yoga twice a week.

My body really needs it; my running coach says to do it. I’ve kept up so far, so let’s keep the ball rolling.

3.) Be able to do 20 real push-ups in a row.

Yeah, I’m a wimp and really don’t like push-ups. But they’re so good for you. I want to be able to do them all on my toes and with proper form. I don’t want to rush through them either. Abby taught me that slow and steady wins the race with these bad boys.

4.) Run a sub-2:00 half-marathon.

Pending the whole running thing works out and I’m not sidelined for a long time (see reasons above), I really want to go sub-2 in 2012. I’m registered for the National half in March and really want that to be the race that does it for me, but that really depends on what’s going on with my body. I really think I have at least a 1:55:xx in me right now, but even if I nab a finish time of 1:59:xx I’ll be happy.

5.) Run a race for charity.

I really want to raise money for the American Cancer Society, along with a few other organizations that are near and dear to my heart. I won’t get my yearly dose of college Relay for Life, so it’s time to combine my passion for giving back with my passion for fitness.

Life

1. Get a full-time job. Grow at my job.

When 2012 began, my goal was to earn a full-time position. As of January 3, I am officially a full-time employee at FITNESS. Woohoo! I’ve been freelancing for them since July and absolutely love it there. I love the people I work with and I love the content we’re creating. So while this isn’t exactly a goal I can attach a specific variable to, I just want to continue to grow, learn and do well at my job. If I’m as happy with my career one year from now as I am right now, then I’ll be one lucky girl.

2. Volunteer at the Hope Lodge.

I keep meaning to get my butt over there and this year I’m going to do it. That’s all.

3.) Go on a cruise.

I have wanted to go on this type of vacation for God knows how long. I think about it every year, but I never follow through. Dustin and I almost did in 2010, but had to cancel our plans due to unforeseen financial circumstances. I’ve been doing really well managing my money along with my new lifestyle (ahem, college graduate), so I’d like to reward myself and enjoy a vacation on the sea with Dustin by the end of July.

4.) Pay off X amount of my student loans.

I have a certain number in mind where you read that X, and I’d really like to make it happen. I’m not in a ton of debt because I was able to secure scholarships here and there along with working multiple jobs throughout my education. So I’d like to be really close to that glorious “debt-free” status by the end of the year. I made a giant leap toward that goal last night when I paid off one loan in full. That felt really good. 

5.) Get my personal trainer certification.

This has been a goal for a long time, but I kept putting it aside because of my job hunt. Now that that’s a little more settled, I’d like to really focus on studying. The books are purchased; I just need to crack ’em open.

6.) Read at least one book a month.

I basically sucked at keeping up with my reading in 2011, until about October. Then I breezed through nine books, all of which I recommend on Pinterest. And I’m already on the right track for 2012: I finished The Violets of March by Sarah Jio this weekend. Seeing as I read it in approximately 48 hours, I recommend this one too. I have so many books on my to-read list; it’s time to start whittling that baby down.

There ya have it! As far as the blog goes, I’m sure it’s been obvious that I haven’t been blogging nearly as frequently as I was before. To be completely honest, it’s because I wasn’t feeling inspired. The past few months have been rough for me and I don’t want to write for no reason. So right now, I’m not making any promises because I don’t want to let anyone down. I’m going to write as often as my schedule allows, and when I have something I want to say. I understand if I lose some readers, but I’m eternally grateful to those of you who stick around. It really makes my day when I see someone cares enough to pop over 🙂

So now it’s your turn:

What are your goals for 2012? Any the same as me? What’s different? Feel free to brag about how awesome your goals are compared to mine, or just how rad you are in general. I won’t mind. 

Posted on January 9, 2012, in Exercise, Goals, Racing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I love being the first to post on your awesome blog. As I was reading this my first thought was “I want to go to NYC and do more awesome fun things with Sam… “like Yoga in the Park. 😛 I feel that it’s only a $10 round trip bus ride from here to there, so I really shouldn’t have an excuse to not get there more and enjoy so many of the things that NYC has to offer.

    So let’s talk about my goals. 🙂 Because I want to share!

    Since being laid off from the Funeral world, I have be reassessing my life. I wasn’t happy with my job anyways. It was boring and the pay was par at best. I’m focusing more on my freelancing business but only as a platform to get everything else off the ground including – healthy bites on a budget along with a few eBooks, meal planning services and nutritional consulting to go along with it and launching Beauty Bites which is going to be a line of lotions, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hand soap, massage oils and bar soap for men and women that are suitable for people with sensitive skin and allergies. I’m also throwing candles in the mix just because they are fun. 😀

    Find an investor for my baking company. I have spent almost 6 years now doing this out of my pocket. I have worked myself to the bone and invested so much money into my baking company just to have things happen… like my glorious commercial kitchen being flooded in September. I’ve decided it’s time to really start looking into investors by summertime. it is a huge untapped market, but will not be huge and untapped for to much longer. Some major GF companies are already starting to offer random desserty items, mine are better. I need to get out there first. hahahaha. I’m not at all competitive or anything 😉

    Become a hot yoga instructor. Hot yoga, as you know, changed my life last year leading me to a record 42lb weight loss. Things were great until hurricane irene caused mold which caused me to be unbearably sick for months. in that time, I gained about 15lbs back, sadly. I have registered for the Healthy Loser challenge, I weigh in tomorrow. I have outlined a very detailed workout plan for the next 13 weeks with my personal trainer and I have made some minor changes to my already stellar eating habits to make sure I get the best results possible. I would love to win that $5,000! But in reality, I just am focused on losing the excess 90lbs that is chilling out on my body. As a reward for my pending victory at weight loss success (yes, I’m that confident) I have already pre-registered for the 9 weekends of hot core yoga training in Boston this fall. 😀

    Lead a fuller life. I don’t even know the last time I really was happy. I mean, i’m generally happy because of my positive outlook on life, but really happy and doing things for myself… it’s been a while. There are many things in my life that I have already started changing and will be changing. I’ve set new boundaries with the boy because it is time for him to commit with moving forward (in general, not like marriage or anything) or stop wasting my time (as hard as that is to say), I put a deposit down on a new apartment because I need to get out from under my crappy landlord who is also the boys best friend, which causes a lot of issues. I want to travel more and spend more time with my friends because frankly, I have been a crappy work-a-holic boring friend for years now and my friends deserve a better friend than that from me. I want to do things that make me happy this year. Go on a cruise. Go Sky Diving. Learn to Knit. Take Scuba Diving Lessons. Take a trip cross country. Attend business/self-growth seminars. Create relationships with new people who empower me. Go hiking. Teach Harley to ride on a paddle board…. this is just a few of them. lol.

    I have never been big on resolutions either, but this year, after all of the unhappiness I have experienced deep down over the last couple of years, I have put my foot down and I am putting myself before anyone else.

    P.S. Seriously, so excited for you about your official job status. For like days after you announced it I was excited for you. 😀

  1. Pingback: Workout Windup: Sticking to Goals « Check My Pulse

  2. Pingback: I Got a Blogging Award! « Check My Pulse

  3. Pingback: Feel-Good Friday: I’m in the Clear « Check My Pulse

  4. Pingback: Workout Windup: Need for Speed « Check My Pulse

  5. Pingback: Confession Time « Check My Pulse

  6. Pingback: Catching Up On Goals « Check My Pulse

  7. Pingback: Summer Reads « Check My Pulse

  8. Pingback: 23 Thankful Things « Check My Pulse

Leave a Reply

